A fitting champion for the Wilson Holden Memorial Ploughing Match

DAY OUT: William Johnston and Family.

WHAT would have been Kilroot Agricultural Ploughing Society’s 109th annual event was, for this year, renamed the Wilson Holden Memorial Ploughing Match in memory of their late chairman, whose sudden death last November rocked the ploughing fraternity. The match was held on the lands of Mr and Mrs Robert Howie, Ballyclare Road, Doagh

Wilson had been a member of the Kilroot Society since 1985, and was the main driving force after taking over as chairman. He also became an active member of the Northern Ireland Ploughing Association, rising to Vice Chairman and then Chairman and played an important role in the day to day running of the body.

BUSY: Mark Taggart, Cogry, Doagh.

It was perhaps fitting, too, that the Champion of the Field was the new Kilroot Chairman, Ian Simms.

Ian, and the rest of the prizewinners, will receive their awards at the annual Presentation Dinner, to be held in the Templeton Hotel, Templepatrick, on Saturday, January 12.

The judges were David Percy, Randalstown, George Huey, Armoy, William Purcell, Limavady, and David Wallace, Muckamore.


World Style – 1, Andrew Gill, Saintfield; 2, Brian O’Neill, Moy; 3, Allen McAnally, Ballyboley.

World Style Beginners – 1, Jack Wright, Loup; 2, Jonathan Cowan, Carrickfergus.

Reversible World Style – 1, David Wright, Loup; 2, Adrian Jamison, Ballycastle; 3, James Coulter, Hillsborough

Classic – 1, Dai Kennedy, Listooder; 2, Nigel Gamble, Ballynure

Vintage Open – 1, Ian Simms, Carrickfergus; 2, James Adair, Ballycorr, Ballyclare; 3, Jack O’Brien,Enniskillen; 4, Fred Dunn, Brookborough

Vintage Trail – 1, David Grattan, Banbridge; 2, Mark Taggart, Cogry, Doagh; 3, Gary Grattan, Banbridge; 4, William Gamble, Ballyrobert.

Vintage Novice – 1, William McCracken; 2, Roy McAnally, Ballyboley; 3, S Moffett; 4,Paul Graham

Vintage Intermediate – 1, Raymond Clifford, Larne; 2, John Robinson, Ballyalbanagh, Ballyclare; 3, David Lemon Senior, Ballyblack; 4, David Lemon Junior, Ballyblack.

Horses – 1, Victor Scott, Limavady; 2, Lindsay Hanna BEM, Listooder.

Commercial Reversible – 1, Jason Paisley; 2, Robin McCann; 3, J Gault; 4, William Johnston.

Champion of the Field, Ian Simms, Carrickfergus; Runner up, Andrew Gill, Saintfield.

RIGHT: Adrian Jamison, Ballycastle.

A spokesperson for Kilroot Agricultural Ploughing Society expressed thanks to Mr and Mrs Robert Howie for the use of the land, the judges, competitors, caterers and everyone else who helped in any way to make this Wilson Holden Memorial Match such a success.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here