Friday, January 28, 2022
HomePedigreeA night of Texel trophies

A night of Texel trophies

THE Dunsilly Hotel, Antrim, was the venue recently for members, friends and sponsors of the NI Texel Sheep Breeders’ Club as they joined together for their Annual Dinner and Awards evening.

Club Chairman Fraser Tweed welcomed the members and guests and extended thanks on behalf of the club to the sponsors of the various competitions held throughout the year.

He then invited Nicola Hartwright, Whitehart Texels, Worcestershire, who kindly judged the club’s annual flock competition, to announce the results and present the awards. Nicola commented on the high standard of stock presented and thanked everyone for their warm welcome and hospitality.

The club extends its thanks to Seamus McCormick and Danske Bank for their ongoing generous sponsorship for the competition.


Flock Category

Small Flock – 1st Adrian Liggett, Corbo Texels; 2nd Jack Gault, Cherryvale Texels; 3rd Philip Bradley, Drumagarner Texels.

Medium Flock – 1st S&J McCollam, Carmavy Texels; 2nd Alastair Gault, Forkins Texels; 3rd Stewart Ferris, Bellefield Texels.

Large Flock – 1st James Wilkinson, Ballygroogan Texels; 2nd V&D Chestnutt, Clougher Texels; 3rd joint J Foster, Springhill Texels and M&C Millar, Millars Texels.

Pen of Ewe Lambs

Small – 1st Jack Gault, Cherryvale Texels; 2nd Philip Whyte, Innishrush Texels; 3rd David Wilson, Firgrove Texels.

Medium – 1st S&J McCollam, Carmavy Texels; 2nd Adrian Liggett, Corbo Texels; 3rd J Wilson and J Wilson Moses, Blackstown Texels.

Large – 1st Alastair Gault, Forkins Texels; 2nd Stewart Ferris, Bellefield Texels; 3rd M&C Millar, Millars Texels.

Best Junior Stock Ram – 1st V&D Chestnutt with Straidarran Eldorado; 2nd Adrian Liggett with Alderview Explosive; 3rd Colin Price with Lakeview Eldorado.

Best Senior Stock Ram – 1st Robert Calvin with Ballyhivistock Dan Dare; 2nd V&D Chestnutt with Greenhill Chief; 3rd Roger Strawbridge & Partners with Proctors Cocktail.

Overall Champion Danske Flock – Ballygroogan, James Wilkinson

Overall Reserve Danske Flock – Clougher, V & D Chestnutt

Congratulations goes to all breeders on their success.

Stewart Ferris, Chairman of the Young Breeders’ Club, presented the Hamill Trophy for the Young Breeder of the Year to Jack Gault for his work and contribution to the Young Breeders’ Club. The evening finished with a charity raffle in aid of bowel cancer.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.