A snowy league final at Ecclesville

Ecclesville final BR Farm
80CM: Maria King presents the 80cm class winner’s rosette to Jordana Mitchell on ‘Rosie’ at the Ecclesville final. (FW06-593JA)

THE final of the first of Ecclesville’s Show jumping Leagues for 2019 was held on February1 and, for the few competitors who braved the snowy conditions, it was very competitive, as the qualified combinations battled it out for the prizes! The 2019 Super League also started with the top six in each class winning valuable points, as at the end of 2019 each class from 60cm through to 1.10m, a perpetual trophy will be awarded to rider and horse combination with the most points.

The spectators were treated to great displays of show jumping, as the competitors twisted and flew round Raymond Caldwell’s courses! Omagh Equestrian and Countrywear had also very kindly sponsored the Turnout Prizes for the final, so this was an added bonus for the riders and grooms.

OLYMPIA RECOGNITION: Right, Cllr Allen Rainey, Chair of Fintona Regeneration Initiative, made a special presentation to Zara-Jane Kelly, who came third in the Mini Major class during the prestigious Olympia International Horse Show in London, partnered by international Show Jumper, Shane Breen. (FW06-592JA) PICTURES

Unfortunately, the wintery conditions had deterred the younger riders coming out for the 40cm class and this resulted in no League Final for this class.

The winner of the 60cm was Cara Garrity riding ‘Henry’, who celebrated her birthday in fine style! The well deserved winner of the 70cm red ribbon winner was Zara Hamilton riding ‘Bambi’, who actually posted the fastest time of the evening with some nifty turns!

The 80cm class had three combinations battling it out for first place and the winner was a delighted Jordana Mitchell and her lovely pony ‘Rosie’.

The 90cm class was the most hotly contested of all the classes and the competitors just got faster and faster, until Lucy McCann and ‘Tilly’ entered the arena! She just beat Jordana Mitchell and ‘Rosie’s’ time to claim first place and 10 valuable Super League 2019 points.

The evening ended with Clara Daly in domination, picking up both the 1m and 1.10m classes riding her talented pony, ‘Lucky’.

The organisers would like to take this opportunity thank all the many competitors who supported this league and especially those who braved the icy conditions to attend the final. Also sincere thanks to Raymond Caldwell, Course Builder, assisted by Malvern Moore, to Jennifer Leonard who assisted in the Judges box and to Omagh Equestrian and Countrywear for sponsoring the Turnout prizes.

The next League for 2019 is scheduled to start on March 22. For further details, please contact Sandra on 07990 541966 or Ecclesville on 028 8284 0591.


February 1

40cm Class: No Entries.

60cm Class (Double Clear): Cara Garrity, Henry.

70cm (Double Clears): Sarah-Jane Sloane, Lilly; Cara Garrity, Henry; Scarlett Knox, Chester; Zara Hamilton, Bambi.

80cm (Double Clears): Jordana Mitchell, Rosie; Zara-Jane Kelly, Cheeka; Natalie Somerville, Beauty; Zara-Jane Kelly, Robin.

90cm (Double Clears): Jordana Mitchell, Rosie; Zara-Jane Kelly, Cheeka; Lucy McCann, Tilly; Clara Daly, Minty; Natalie Somerville, Venus.

1m (Double Clears): Natalie Somerville, Venus; Clara Daly, Lucky.

1.10m: No Double Clears.


40cm: No result.

60cm: 1) Cara Garrity, Henry; 2) Sarah-Jane Sloane, Lilly; 3) Scarlett Knox, Chester; 4) Ella Cashel, Candy Crush; 5) Emily Bothwell, Lucky Penny (Turnout Prize); 6) Shauna Murray, Casper.

70cm: 1) Zara Hamilton, Bambi; 2) Sarah-Jane Sloane, Lilly (Turnout Prize); Scarlett Knox, Chester; 4) Cara Garrity, Henry.

80cm: 1) Jordana Mitchell, Rosie (Turnout Prize); 2) Lucy McCann, Tilly; 3) Zara Hamilton, Mindy.

90cm: 1) Lucy McCann, Tilly; 2) Jordana Mitchell, Rosie; 3) Clara Daly, Mindy; 4) Zara Hamilton, Mindy.

1m: 1) Clara Daly, Lucky; 2) Clara Daly, Minty.

IMMACULATE: Maria King presents the 70cm class Best Turned Out winner’s rosette to Sara-Jane Sloane on ‘Lilly’ at the Ecclesville league final. (FW06-591JA)

1.10m: 1) Clara Daly, Lucky.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here