Wednesday, January 19, 2022
HomeBusinessAgri BusinessAgri-food business leader honoured at IoD Director Of The Year Awards

Agri-food business leader honoured at IoD Director Of The Year Awards

Agri-food industry leader Glenn Speer was among those honoured at the annual Institute of Directors Northern Ireland (IoD NI) Director of the Year Awards sponsored by AIB.

The Business Development Director of Fane Valley was named Young Director of the Year at a ceremony held virtually for the first time due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Glenn joined Fane Valley in 2018 and is responsible for the effective delivery of strategic and key business objectives across the Fane Valley group with particular emphasis on the development of agri-business goals.

Other recipients included Michael McCormack of Musgrave Group, who was named the Large Business Director of the Year, while David Henry of Henry Brothers received the Family Business Director of the Year Award.

This year’s full winners were:

Chairman’s Award for Excellence in Director and Board Practice, sponsored by AIB – Brendan Mooney, Kainos Group;

Director of the Year – Non-Executive, sponsored by Deloitte – Diana Fitzsimons;

Director of the Year – Innovation, sponsored by KPMG – Daniel Crawford, Axial3D;

Director of the Year – Young, sponsored by Carson McDowell – Glenn Speer, Fane Valley;

Director of the Year – Public Sector, sponsored by Capita Managed IT Solutions – Professor Nola Hewitt Dundas, Head of Management School, QUB

Director of the Year – Third Sector, sponsored by Capita Managed IT Solutions – Lynn Carvill, WOMEN’STEC;

Director of the Year – Family Business, sponsored by BDO Northern Ireland – David Henry, Henry Bros;

Director of the Year – International, sponsored by Invest Northern Ireland – Brian Reid, Deli-Lites;

Director of the Year – Small to Medium Business, sponsored by Ulster University Business School – Sinead Higgins, Decision Time;

Director of the Year – Inclusivity, sponsored by ABL Group – John Healy OBE, Allstate;

Director of the Year – Large Business, sponsored by Amplifi Solutions – Michael McCormack, Musgrave Group;

The inaugural Philanthropist of the Year, Community Foundation Northern Ireland award was awarded to Alan Nappin of the ARN Foundation.

Speaking at the awards ceremony, Gordon Milligan, IoD NI Chairman, said: “A huge congratulations to all this year’s winners, once again proving that the economy here in Northern Ireland benefits from a wealth of leadership talent across the private and public sector, each of them performing to the very highest standards.”

Speaking about their support for the awards, Brian Gillan, Head of Retail & NI, AIB UK, said: “Leadership has been seriously tested in the last few months across all walks of life and will be crucial as we tackle the twin challenges of the Covid-19 pandemic fallout and the impending Brexit implications.

“As we emerge from lockdown and begin to focus on rebuilding the economy, what better time to recognise and showcase the leaders making a real difference here in NI.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.