Broderick crowned 2018 TRM/ HSI New Heights Champions Series winner

New Heights BR Farm
PRESENTATION: Greg Broderick and ‘Duco’, winners of the 2018 TRM/ HSI New Heights Champions Series, receiving their prizes. (FW36-556NN)

FOR the second year in-a-row, Tipperary’s Greg Broderick has been crowned TRM/ HSI New Heights Champions Series winner, after he topped the table following Sunday’s final round at Barnadown in Co. Wexford. A third place finish in the final was enough to see Broderick come out on top with the Mary Ellen De Ruschi-owned ‘Duco’, while fellow Ballypatrick Stables rider Darragh Ryan finished as series runner-up.

The leading breeder prize went to Harold McGahen (‘Rincoola Rua’), with Hugh Fitzpatrick (‘Erne Lady Goldilocks’) in second and John McCann (‘Gelvins Touch’) in third. The overall leading groom prize went to Ballypatrick’s Ashleigh Skillen.

The final Grand Prix of the series at Barnadown saw Waterford army rider Capt Geoff Curran take victory with the Minister of Defence-owned ‘Ringwood Glen’. They jumped clear against the clock in 43.93 to finish just ahead of fellow Waterford rider Francis Connors, who took second with ‘Erne Lady Goldilocks’ (45.45). Greg Broderick finished third with ‘Duco’ (48.68), while Kilkenny’s Susan Fitzpatrick had the fastest four-fault round of the jump-off to take fourth place and leading young rider with ‘Fellow Castlefield’.

The TRM/ Horse Sport Ireland New Heights Champions Series is Ireland’s most lucrative competition on the National Show Jumping circuit, with a prize fund of over €105,000. The series is sponsored by TRM, who are Europe’s leading manufacturer and distributor of nutritional feed supplements and general healthcare products for horses, and by Horse Sport Ireland, the National Governing Body for Equestrian Sport in Ireland.


TRM/ HSI New Heights Champions Series at Mullingar Equestrian. Highest Placed Young Rider: Susan Fitzpatrick.

Winning Owner: Minister of Defence.

Winning Groom: Mark McKenna.

1) Cpt. Geoff Curran, Ringwood Glen 0/0 43.93; 2) Francis Connors, Erne LadyGoldilocks 0/0 45.45; 3) Greg Broderick, Duco 0/0 48.68; 4) Susan Fitzpatrick, Fellow Castlefield 0/4 41.43; 5) Greg Broderick, Chinook 0/4 42.08; 6) Peter Smyth, Chs Krooze 0/4 42.14; 7) Darragh Ryan, Rincoola Rua 4/4 43.02; 8) Alexander Butler, Dekato 0/8 41.16; 9) Tholm Keane, BMH Big Time 0/8 45.15; 10) Ger O’Neill, Castlefield Vegas 0/R.

Overall Leading Rider: Greg Broderick.

Overall Runner Up: Darragh Ryan.

Breeder Prize: 1) Harold McGahen (Rincoola Rua); 2) Hugh Fitzpatrick (Erne LadyGoldilocks); 3) John McCann (Gelvins Touch).

Overall Leading Groom: Ashleigh Skillen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here