City of Derry members mark awards success

Samuel McKean, club patron and founder member, and Nat Moore with their respective wives June and Irene enjoying attending the annual presentation dinner of City of Derry YFCU celebrated at The Belfray Country Inn, Drumahoe. This was the club’s 58th anniversary!

CITY of Derry YFC held their annual Club Dinner Dance and Prize Distribution recently at the Belfray Country Inn.

Thanks go to parents, family, friends and members who attended to help members celebrate another successful year.

Big thanks to guest speaker YFCU President Zita McNaugher for taking time out of her busy schedule to attend along with her husband David.

Club members are also grateful for the auction items which were kindly donated by local businesses. Auctioneer for the night was Robert Mawhinney.

Everyone danced the night away with DJ Wes.


Stockjudging cups

12-14 Robert Craig – Adam Foster

14-16 WM Thompson – Matthew McLucas

16-18 WM Thompson – Matthew McCorkell

18-21 WM Thompson – Emma Montgomery

21-25 W&J Chambers – Lynne Montgomery

Public Speaking

Under 16 E.Lusby Cup – Aoife Campbell

Over 16 Messrs Bond Cup – Lynne Montgomery

Ulster Young Farmer

Junior – 1st Russell Kelly; 2nd Blair Killen; 3rd Craig Foster.

Senior – 1st Gordon Crockett; 2nd Ryan Kelly; 3rd Tom Parkhill.

Home management

Junior – 1st Aoife Campbell; 2nd Russell Kelly.

Senior – 1st Lynne Montgomery; 2nd Emma Montgomery; 3rd Jocelyn Rainey; 4th Jemma Gamble.

Junior Member Sammy Wilson Cup – Jack Gamble

Senior Member Hamilton Shield – Emma Montgomery

Most promising new member – Tom Lynch

Full attendance McSparron Cup – Gordon Crockett, James Killen, Gordon Killen, Blair Killen, Jocelyn Rainey, Emma Montgomery, Harry White, Jack Thompson, Tom Lynch and Ryan and Russell Kelly.

Diane Smyth Cup for Most competitions – Lynne and Emma Montgomery.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here