Sunday, December 5, 2021
HomeHorse WeekHorse EventsConnell Hill hosts Ulster Region Grand Prix

Connell Hill hosts Ulster Region Grand Prix

WITH great anticipation, Connell Hill (Randalstown) was delighted to host the second leg of the Electro-Tech Ulster Region Grand Prix on Monday, May 3. Despite the weather, competitors enjoyed a superb day of jumping, over what was a terrific course built by Will Creen and assisted by Simon Jackson.

Senior National Judge, Nicola Tang commented that it was great to see such a terrific turnout and that, still under covid regulations, everyone enjoyed being able to compete in such a prestigious event.

The big class of the day was of course the 1.35m Grand Prix and again Will did not disappoint with the course. This led to a very exciting jump off, which had everyone on the edge of their seats. The winner, Jonathan Smyth on ‘Cafre Olympic Dream’, jumped a super clear in a very fast time of 43.17 seconds, just pipping second placed Kerrie Kerr on ‘Marblearch’ to the post.

Connell Hill would also like to thank Ray Buchanan for assisting with the 1.35m course; Linda Skillen, National Judge and also all those who helped to make it such a successful day.

All up and coming show details can be found on the website:


Monday, May 3

90cm – Double Clear: Jodie Creighton, Quality’s Kinder Surprise; Sean Foley, Magic; Edward Little, Roundthorn Minerva; Elle Ward, Liberty DMC; Zoe Daniel; LGS My Echo.

1m: 1) Grace McGarry, Just Because D&M; 2) Laura Gordon, Brayhill Wonder; 3) Amy Wilson, Vagabond; Danielle Kennedy, Demero; 5) Emma Louise Gaston, Chillout Sheddy; 6) Niamh Mallon McFall, Bay of Biscay.

1.10m: 1) Abby Morton, Blueoak Yogi; 2) Ruth O’Brien, Diarado Royale; 3) Finn Osborne, Chicco Camiro; 4) Fiona Coyle, Arlon-E; 5) Sarah Burns, Georgies Star; 6) Toni McClenaghan, Royale Mardi Gras; 7) Danielle Kennedy, Demero.

1.20m: 1) Michael Cave, Gortshalgan; 2) Sarah Burns, Georgies Star; 3) Magan McGettigan, Ballnamurra Eargon; 4) John Higgins, al de Mazeroy; 5) Hannah Thompson, Ballylurgan What Lux; 6) Fergus Reid, I’m Boss WH.

1.30m Grand Prix: 1) Jonathan Smyth, Cafre Olympic Dream; 2) Kerrie Kerr, Marblearch; 3) Kelda Morgan, Mora van het hellehof; 4) John McLaughlin, Lincourt Luidam; 5) Erin Crawford, Carrickadawson Womanizer; 6) Luke Campbell, Derryinver Premier Sarah.

Bree Rutledge

If you would like to find out more about Horse Week, Bree Rutledge can be contacted by email: or or by telephone: +44 (0) 28 9033 4493.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.