Wednesday, December 8, 2021
HomeFarmweek NewsDonegal ploughman takes Coleraine title

Donegal ploughman takes Coleraine title

MATTHEW Simms, Donegal, was the Champion of the Field at the highly successful match organised by Coleraine and District Tractor Ploughing Society on the lands of Jim McElwee, Drumquin, Limavady,

Weather and ground conditions were ideal for the 34 ploughmen.

The judges were Des Wright MBE, Coleraine; George Huey, Armoy; Dermot O’Hanlon, Mullahead; and John McKinney and Leonard Bell, both Donegal.


12 inch world style open: 1, Matthew Simms, Donegal; 2, Andrew Gill, Saintfield; 3, Allen McAnally, Ballyboley; 4, Ian Simms, Carrickfergus.

Reversible: 1, David Wright, Loup; 2, James Coulter, Hillsborough; 3, Adrian Jamison, Ballycastle; 4, Martin Stewart, Garvagh.

Vintage Classic: 1, Nigel Gamble, Ballynure; 2, William Purcell, Limavady; 3, William McCracken, Portadown; 4, David Lemon Senior, Ballyblack.

Vintage Senior: 1, James Adair, Ballycorr, Ballyclare; 2, David Grattan, Banbridge; 3, Steven Weatherup, Magheramorne; 4, Mark Taggart, Cogry, Doagh.

Vintage Novice: 1, Thomas Nevin, Ringsend; 2, Paul Graham; 3, Sam Loughrey; 4, M Beattie.

Horses: 1, Victor Scott, Limavady; 2, Deaghlan Ferris, Ringsend; 3, Walter Milliken, Aghadowey.

Championship of the Field: Matthew Simms, Donegal.

A spokesperson for the Coleraine and District Tractor Ploughing Society expressed thanks to Mr McElwee for the use of the lands; the judges, competitors and everyone who helped in any way to make the event a success.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.