East Antrim branch celebrates a great year

East Antrim branch celebrates a great year

EAST Antrim Pony Club held their Annual Awards Ball at Corr’s Corner Hotel on Saturday, November 11. The ball was attended by over 160 members, parents and guests. East Antrim would like to extend their thanks to Corr’s Corner and DJ Gaz, who made sure that a great night was had by all.

The club celebrated a great year, with a number of excellent results across the Area Competitions and a great level of participation, fielding a total of over 100 area competitors across all the disciplines. A special award was made to William Hamilton, who was selected, for the second year running, for the Northern Ireland Mounted Games Team, which competed at Windsor.

Presentations were also made to members who had represented the club at the Zone Games in Scotland (Chloe Stewart, Emma Bamford, Katelyn Irvine, Rocco Cairns and Toby Davison) and to competitors who qualified for and competed at Pony Club UK Championships at Cholmondely Castle (Dressage: Olivia Quinn, Felicity McConnell, Laura McKay, Anna Roscoe, Alex Byrne and Sam Cunningham; Show jumping: Hugo O’Neill, Felicity McConnell and Benjamin Gilmore; Eventing: Aimee Roscoe).

Hilary McKee retired earlier this year after 12 years as District Commissioner of East Antrim and a presentation was made to her by new joint DCs Richard McCartney and Hayley Cunningham.


Cups were awarded as follows:

Junior Games Shield: Team of Emma Bamford, Katelyn Irvine, Chloe Stewart, Rocco Cairns and Toby Davison

Intermediate show jumping, Lismore Cup: Rocco Quinn

Novice show jumping, Beggs Cup: Hugo O’Neill

Junior Show jumping, Golden Jubilee Cup: Sam Jackson

Intermediate Eventing, Silverbrook Cup: Rocco Quinn

Novice Eventing, Lisnacue Cup: Rachel Lockyear

Intermediate Dressage, Hartfield Cup: Olivia Quinn

Novice Dressage, Silverstream Cup: Felicity McConnell

Fledgling Tetrathlon Cup: Mya McCullough

Farrier Cup, best girl at senior camp: Rachel Lockyear and Olivia Quinn

Best boy at senior camp: Patrick Cunningham

Rebel Walk Cup, best overall at junior camp: Mya McCullough and Molly Mccartney

Golden Haze Cup, best overall performance at Home Championships: Laura McKay and Eve Lindsey

Jasper Cup for effort and achievement at Home Championships: Team of Laura Mckay, Katelyn Irvine, Katie Bamford and Toby Davison

Ballyrobert Cars Cup, most improved 8 and under: Nicole Peoples and Ollie Davison

George Cup, most improved 10 and under: Molly McCartney, Holly Ross and Sophia Bingham

Bates Cup, most improved 11/12: Toby Davison and Stephanie Fox

Moore Cup, most improved 13/14: Taylor Hunter

Lylehill Shield for best junior performance: Felicity McConnell

Carmichael Cup, best senior girl: Olivia Quinn and Hannah McCartney

McCartney Motors Cup, best senior boy: Benjamin Gilmore and Hugo O’Neill

Ballyrobert Cars Cup, junior endeavour: Grace Morton and Grace Reid

NFU Mutual Cup endeavour over 12: Kaitlyn Hodge

Magill Ambassador Trophy: Laura McKillen

Dixon Liggett Cup for best performance outside Pony Club: Jessica McConnell

John Baird Cup for the best member: Benjamin Gilmore

Hughie Memorial Cup for best pony: Grace Reid’s Misty

Parkstown Hector Memorial Trophy for best overall intermediate performance: Rocco Quinn

Hunt Cup: Holly Ross

Medals for parent/ volunteer of the year were awarded to: Sarah Lyle, Neil Murphy and Kenny McCullough.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here