Sunday, September 26, 2021
HomeHorse LeagueEast Down hosts Summer League Grand Prix at Portmore

East Down hosts Summer League Grand Prix at Portmore

- Advertisment -

SUNDAY, August 23 was a big day for many Pony Clubbers in Area 17 NI. East Down Branch of the Pony Club ran the Semple McKillop Summer League Grand Prix at Portmore Equestrian Centre, Aghalee. 
It was an excellent day of show jumping, with something for everyone from cross-poles to 1.10m classes. To say it has been a mixed year for Pony Club competition would be an understatement, so it was brilliant to be able to run this event safely at such an excellent venue. East Down were privileged to have Will Crean (National Course Designer) as course designer, with Sharon Cullen and Denise Withers as judges.

The judges and officials were very impressed with the standard of riding and East Down are grateful to John Gibson of Sporting Images NI, who presented Horsemanship Award trophies, which reflected the talent on display.
The younger competitors all went home with beautiful prizes, purchased from Rockvale Farm Equestrian. All competitors looked extremely smart and had made a great effort with turnout and presentation.

Thank you to Jonathan Elliot of Lion Medical Services for his assistance and huge thanks as well to Daniel Gilchrist and his family, who organised sponsorship from local company Semple McKillop and ran the Arena Party all day.
Well done to all on the East Down Committee whose hard work made this happen, especially Nicky Burns, who is East Down’s most excellent Show Jumping Representative. It wasn’t easy to run with the various essential CV19 restrictions in place, but all at the branch were thrilled to be able to run again after having to cancel in March this year.

Despite lockdown, East Down Branch is thriving with new members joining throughout the year so far. The branch welcomes everyone to a varied programme of rallies and training this Autumn and Winter at the various excellent local venues in their area.

If you are interested in joining this friendly branch, please visit their facebook page: https:// GoEastDown


Sunday, August 23

105-110cm Grand Prix:
1) Dyan Torrens, Glenarousk Flash Bandit; 2) Niamh Fitzpatrick, Newmarket Trooper; 3) Ellen Douglas, Rock Tempo; 4) Nikki Cullen, Tango Lad; 5) Maeve Clarke, Junky; 6) Josh Mark, Calinvella.

Horsemanship Awards: Megan Nelson – Trophy; Nikki Cullen.

90-95cm WL Open Grand Prix:
1) Cillian Torrens, Piggybank; Mary-Kate Rice, Rakish Talisman; 3) Johan Fitzpatrick Burns, Chocolat II; 4) Cara McNabb, Killone Leo; 5) Molly Davidson, Bellindene Fagin; 6) Taylor McKnight, Sparkling Delta Dawn.

Horsemanship Award – Trophy:
James Murphy.

Debut 80-85cm class: 1) Taylor McKnight, Asterix; 2) Ruby Kinkaid, Lismahon Houdini; 3) Taylor McKnight, Sparkling Delta Dawn; 4) Hannah Staats-Howard, Sammy Joe; 5) Sophia Bingham, Clover; 6) Lauren Madine, Moonshine Melody.

Horsemanship Award – Trophy:
Harry Purdy.

12 and under 75cm class

75cm Grade A: 1) Emma Burns, Flapjack Flyer; 2) Zoe Caskey, Smokegun; 3) Cillian Torrens, Tynan Petal.

1) Nicole Peoples, Forest Flash; 2) Aine Clancy, Apple Jack Buttercrunch; 3) Lucas Bradley, Flynn; 4) Mya McMillan, Springhill Quickstep; 5) Dean Pike, Derrymattery Fudge; 6) Molly O’Connor, Rossfad Runaway.

50-55cm class – were all winners: Katie Forbes; Georgia Storey; Laoise Clancy; Sarah Pike; Darcy Henry McCool; Rosanna Beattie; Annabelle Betts; Lexie McClements; Charlotte Nelson.

40-45cm class – were all winners:
Annabelle Gill; Charlotte Gray; Imogen Gray; Kathryn Walker; Annabel Storey; Sarah Pike; Paige Erwin; CJ O’Brien; Laoise Clancy.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.