Hat-trick for Ahearne at RDS Young Horse qualifiers at the Meadows

Meadows RDS qualifiers BR Farm
FOUR-YEAR-OLD: Daniel Fitzgerald and ‘Queen of Dancing BW’, winners of the Four-Year-Old RDS Qualifier at The Meadows. (FW22-563NN)

WEDNESDAY, May 26 saw the first of the Young Horse qualifiers for the RDS National Championships. The occasion saw athletes from all over Ireland head northward to the Meadows Equestrian Complex, Lurgan.

In the Four-Year-Old Qualifier, Daniel Fitzgerald was a worthy winner, having impressed the visiting judges to take the first place ribbons with ‘Queen of Dancing BW’, a bay mare by Emerald Van’t Ruytershof’, owned by Niall Carey.

EIGHT- AND NINE-YEAR-OLD: Abbie Sweetnam and ‘Brown Star Z’, winners of the Eight- and Nine-Year-Old RDS Qualifier at The Meadows. (FW22-562NN)

In one of the best displays of young horse jumping, the Five-Year-Old RDS Qualifier was eventually won by Ethen Ahearne and ‘Go Lightly’, by international stallion ‘For Pleasure’. Only 14 combinations made it through the gruelling three-round competition without penalty, designed by Tom Holden.

Ahearne also took the Six-Year-Old Qualifier on board Noel Cawley’s chestnut mare ‘Lissadell’ by ‘Plot Blue’, having gone to the third round and recording one of only nine treble clear rounds, to secure the win.

International Course Designer Tom Holden set down a challenging course for the Seven-Year-Old Qualifier, but made it a hat trick for Ethen Ahearne, as he also took the top spot in that class with Noel Cawley’s ‘Emerald Mystique’ by ‘Emerald Van’t Ruthersof’.

With some technical lines, only 10 horses came home with a clean sheet in the Eight- and Nine-Year-Old Qualifier after the second round to ensure that the class went the distance. Of the 10 combinations, nine ended up coming home clear once again and, in doing so, ensured themselves of qualification to the RDS for 2021.


RDS National Championships – Young Horse qualifiers

Five-Year-Old RDS Qualifier: 1) Noel Cawley & GBBS Int Ltd’s Go Lightly, Ethen Ahearne; 2) Pat McDonnell’s Kilnamac Maud, Robyn Moran; 3) Seamus Drea’s DSH Lucky Junior, Tholm Keane; 4) Sophie Richards’s Pablo C (ISH), Sophie Richards; 5) Helen O’Regan & John Hoyne’s HHS Disney (ISH), Maria Vozone; 6) Bravo Hughes Ltd’s HHS Rose, Carl Webb.

Six-Year-Old RDS Qualifier: 1) Noel Cawley’s Lissadell, Ethen Ahearne; 2) Brian Moran’s Fortside Trend, Robyn Moran; 3) Hadley Sport Horses’s HSH Harper Du Seigneur, Sven Hadley; 4) Richard Bourns’s Tranquility Bay, Joanne Blair; 5) Sorcha Hennessy’s Inlaws Manolo, Derek McConnell; 6) Gerald & Joanna Penfold’s Cillbhrid Heros Flight, Oliver Penfold.

Seven-Year-Old RDS Qualifier: 1) Noel Cawley’s Emerald Mystique, Ethen Ahearne; 2) Paul Carberry’s Calcord, Paul Carberry; 3) Thomas Slater’s Deloughtane Matoaka, Cathal McMunn; 4) Hilda Whelan’s HW True Blue, Vincent Byrne; 5) Tim Brennan’s GCS Athena, John McEntee; 6) Richard McEvoy’s Lisboy Louie, Niamh McEvoy.

Eight- & Nine-Year-Old RDS Qualifier: 1) Barra Sweetnam’s Brown Star Z, Abbie Sweetnam; 2) Eddie Moloney & TSI Equestrian’s Temple Alice, Eddie Moloney; 3) Elicia Edgar’s Messenger VF (FEI), Ethan Ahearne; 4) Sorcha Hennessy’s Dothraki Warlord, Derek McConnell; 5) Ann Doherty’s Crystal Graf, Jonathan Smyth; 6) Julia Nagler’s Clark (GER), Ethen Ahearne.

Four-Year-Old RDS Qualifier: 1) Niall Carey’s Queen of Dancing BW, Daniel Fitzgerald; 2) Maurice Cousins’s Make Me Happy, Sophie Richards; 3) Ronan Rothwell’s Boleybawn Alton, Michael Daly; 4) Clare Hughes’s ESI Indigo, Oisin Aylward; 5) Pat McDonnell’s Castleconnell Candy Man, Robyn Moran; 6) Freestone Farm’s Sumas Knockout, Vincent Byrne; 7) Sean Judge’s Tyson Fury, Sean Judge; 8) Seamus Hughes Kennedy’s Firenze HK, Shane Dalton; 9) Feargal White’s Quality Ragwort, Anna White; 10) Michael Ormond’s Kylemore Big Hero, Linda Moloney; 11) Ronan Rothwell’s Boleybawn Amy, Michael Daly; 12) Paddy Sweeney’s SVS Limited Edition, Taylor Sweeney; 13) Meabh Bolger

Jason Higgins’s Miss Eldorado, Jason Higgins; 14) Thomson Sport Horses’s Harlequin Duke, Paddy O’Donnell; 15) Liam McCloskey’s Coolturk Private Jet, Shane McCloskey; 16) Ronan Rothwell’s Greenacres Comilfo, Michael Daly; 17) Olivia Burns’s Aboy Duggie, Olivia Burns; 18) John Brennan’s BBH Alaska, Gemma Phelan; 19) Martin Doyle’s Douglas Dreamer, Patrick

SEVEN-YEAR-OLD: Ethen Ahearne riding Emerald Mystique, winners of the 7 Year Old RDS Qualifier at The Meadows. (FW22-561NN)

Doyle; 20) Donal Geaney’s Roanwood Hurry Up Surprise, Jack Geaney.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here