Hereford breeders collect silverware

n NIHBA President Stephen Baxter, guest speaker Sam Chesney with his wife Sinead, Sandra Irvine and NIHBA Chairman Adrian Irvine.

MEMBERS of the NI Hereford Breeders’ Association, along with families and friends, gathered at the La Mon House Hotel and Country Club to celebrate their Annual Awards evening which recognises the individual and collective winners throughout the show season.

Guest speaker for the evening was Sam Chesney, UFU Beef and Lamb Chairman. Sam gave the audience his view of the beef market going forward, highlighting opportunities and threats, and how Brexit may shape the future for Northern Ireland farmers.

n Robin Irvine and wife Edith collect Sire of the Year trophy from NIHBA Secretary Mark Moore. :

The presentation of awards was led off by James Graham and family with the Richmount herd. James received his fifth bull of the year award, this time with Richmount 1 Rockafella, closely followed in reserve by stablemate Richmount 1 Skyfall. Richmount 1 Poppy also performed well as reserve poll female of the year.

Female of the year and horned female went to Mervyn Richmond with the Balmoral Show Champion Corraback Cherry 10th, as well as picking up reserve horned female of the year.

John and Karen Taggert’s Carney Hill 1 Gillian 6th took poll female of the year and a host of other awards including overall Champion at the National Show in Castlewellan.

Horned Bull of the Year went to Mark and Lawrence Moore for their young bull Annaghbeg Governor and they also took the Reserve Horned Bull of the year award.

John Conlon took the award for overall best herd in Northern Ireland for the second year in a row.

Sire of the year was a tie between Robin Irvine’s Fisher 1 Jubilee and David Wilson’s Knockmountagh Master with both bulls progeny keenly sought in the sale ring.

The Ulster Bank Rose Bowl for the Progeny Pair of the Year went to Mervyn and Henry Richmond for a pair of heifers by Kye Rodge.

Diane and Simon Johnston thoroughly enjoyed their debut year on the show circuit and they lifted the Novice Award for the best newcomer.

The awards for winners at the Balmoral Show included the Sydney Mawhinney Cup for the Best Naturally Polled Animal Bred in the UK and this went to James Graham for Richmount 1 Poppy. The F W McMordie Cup for the Junior Champion at Balmoral was won by Mervyn and Henry Richmond for Corraback Cherry 10th.

The News Letter Rose Bowl for the Champion at the National Show, held at Castlewellan, was won by John and Karen Taggart, Carney Hill 1 Gillian 6th. The Taggart family also won the Ralston Cup for the best heifer exhibitor bred and the Robert Clarke Cup for the best Polled Hereford, exhibitor bred with Carney Hill 1 Gillian 6th.

The Barron Cup for the best Junior Female went to Mervyn and Henry Richmond for Corraback Olive 10th.

The NIHBA Cup for the Calf Champion went to James Graham for Richmount 1 Skyfall and James also won the Clow Cup for the best group of three exhibitor bred

The Robinson & O’Kane Cup for the exhibitor gaining the most points at the National show was shared between John and Karen Taggart & Mark and Lawrence Moore

The keenly contested Young Handler competition was won by Gemma McCorry

Awards for Calf Show winners included the Kerridge Cup for the Female Champion – Gerry and Ethan Small for Drumshambo 1 Journey, the McCaffrey Cup for Male Champion won by J & W McMordie for Solpoll 1 Rival and the Christie Cup for the Champion Young Handler awarded to Ethan Small.

The Wenlock Cup for the January Sale Champion was won by Mervyn & Henry Richmond for Corraback Lenny, while the Omagh Mart Cup for the Spring Show & Sale Champion went to Hunter Stewart for Thornbank 1 Real Deal.

n Mervyn Richmond being presented with one of his many trophies by NIHBA Chairman Adrian Irvine. :

Awards for the champions at each of the summer shows were won by Mervyn and Henry Richmond for Balmoral, Saintfield and Omagh while James Graham collected the prizes for Lurgan, Armagh, Newry and Enniskillen. John and Karen Taggart were successful at Castlewellan, Ivan Haire at Antrim, Stephen Cherry at Ballymena and Robin Irvine at Clogher Valley.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here