Thursday, September 2, 2021
HomeHorse LeagueIveagh Little Mix reign supreme in first leg of Meadows Inter-schools’ League

Iveagh Little Mix reign supreme in first leg of Meadows Inter-schools’ League

IT was certainly a full and action-packed day at the Meadows Equestrian Centre, Lurgan on Saturday for the start of their 2020 Inter-Schools’ Show Jumping League, sponsored by TRI Equestrian NI. Over 400 entries took to the arenas over the duration of the opening leg of this ever-popular league.

The Primary classes continue to grow year on year, with many new faces welcomed to the Embankment Road complex. There was no shortage of determination or excitement in Arena 2, as the first of the competitions commenced, starting with the new 75cm individual class.

The winning Primary Team this week was the Iveagh Little Mix, who had a convincing lead over the team from Ballydown Primary School.

23 Novice Teams battled it out for supremacy and those all-important first points on the leader board. Just five teams finished on a zero score, with Rathfriland High School having a commanding lead over second placed Assumption Grammar.

In the Open Team competition, Down High Eagles, managed to top the leader board as the fastest team on a zero score, but had a multiple second margin over second placed Wallace High School, with Ballyclare High School picking up the third place.

Sincere thanks go to the sponsors, TRI Equestrian, Baileys Horse Feeds and Lisburn Bowl, whose generosity is very much appreciated.

Appreciation must also go to all the judges, starters, arena stewards and office staff, who work tirelessly to ensure the smooth running of this very popular League.


Saturday, September 26

TRI Equestrian Inter-Schools’ League – week one

Primary 50cm Individual: 1) Sarah Pike, Marcello, Aughnacloy PS; 2) Henry Perkins, Rockmount Cinders, Friends Prep; 3) Henry McCarthy, Casper, Downshire PS; 4) Ruby Mulvenna, Sparky, Gilford PS; 5) Ellie Murphy, Coolaney Breeze, Meadowbridge PS; 6) Harley McKeag, Dandy, Sullivan Prep.

Primary 60cm Individual: 1) Annabelle Betts, Daisy, Tandragee PS; 2) Isaac McCarthy, Thunder, Downshire PS; 3) Siena Moore, Titch, Ballyclare High School; 4) Alice Steele, Brookale Royal Consort, Carnacarville PS; 5) Henry McCarthy, Casper, Downshire PS; 6) Molly McGurgan, Sparkles, St Patricks PS, Armagh.

Primary Teams (65/70cm): 1) Iveagh Little Mixed: Tilley Tumilty, LJ Sparky; Lily Murphy, TBC; Jack Cowen, Honey Bee; Tilley Tumilty, Bambi; 2) Ballydown Primary School: Lily Murphy, Milford Spectacular; Serena Brown, Rathdrum Bobby; Sophia Madeley, Dream Boy Easkey Lane; Charlotte Nelson, Dunaded; 3) The Rad Raiders: Annabelle Betts, Daisy; Ted Geary, Susie; Isaac McCarthy, Blaneys Boy; Zara McConnell, Rio; 4) The Dolly Mixtures: Fergus Lowry, Loneash Daisy; Kara Cosgrove, Crunchie; Tilley Tumilty, Guinness; Olivia Stewart, Shadow of a Star; 5) Mixed: Annabelle Clarke, Casper; Fred Clarke, Firefly; Lucy Orr, Jazzy Suzie; Jay Doherty, TBC; 6) East Antrim Mix Ups: Annie Morrow, Made in Japan; Eve Lindsey, Tableybrook Henry; Cayleigh Irwin, Henry; Eve Lindsay, Made in Japan.

Primary 70cm Individual: 1) Tilly Tumilty, Bambie; 2) Lucy Orr, Jazzy Suzie, Howard Primary School; 3) Jack Cowan, Honey Bee, Kings Park Primary; 4) Jay Doherty, Shanvalley Lilly, The Armstrong Primary School; 5) Una McClelland, Blaze, CBS Armagh; 6) Annabelle Clarke, Firefly, Markethill Primary School.

75cm Individual: 1) Julia Mulligan, Devonhayes Marble, Devonish College; 2) Nicole Peoples, Forest Flash, Larne Grammar; 3) Lily-Rose McGinn, Lislaird Giggle, St Marks HS; 4) Abbey Wallace, Ladybug, Grosvenor Grammar; 5) Dean Pike, Derrymattery Fudge, Aughnacloy College; 6) Sophia Madely, Alfie, Ballydown PS.

Novice Teams: 1) Rathfriland High School: Taylor McKnight, Asterix; Rosie Herron, Solitaire Rusty Brown; Sarah Craig, Rocky; Taylor McKnight, Sparkling Delta Dawn; 2) Assumption Grammar: Megan Savage, Star Surprise; Riona Savage, Knockash Willis; Ruby Kinkaid, Lismahon Houdini; Anna Morrow, Rustums Jubilee; 3) Carrickfergus Grammar: Katelyn Irvine, Duach Shadow; Ben Foster, Duach Shadow; Ben Foster, Sundown Bailey; Katelyn Irvine, Connie; 4) Royal School Dungannon: Ellie Burke, Cash; Emily Boyd, Magic; Bethany Smith, Goldengrove Silhouette; Erin Mathieson, Goldengrove Royal Wedding; 5) Down High Gold: Sarah Carse, Jimmy’s Clover; Abby Cumminskey, Holly; Katie Robinson, Last of the Mohicans; Emily Carse, Coilltedubh Lochlan; 6) Belfast Royal Academy: Bertie McCrea, Robe Archie; Toby McCrea, Woodrow Rosewood; Tori Jewiss, Red; Bertie McCrea, Woodrow Rosewood.

Novice Individual: 1) Ruby Kincaid, Lismahon Houdini, Assumption Grammar; 2) Taylor McKnight, Asterix, Rathfriland High School; 3) Ellie McDowell, Gucci Rush II, Nendrum College; 4) Katie Robinson, Duncarberry Cascade, Clounagh Junior HS; 5) Amber Bradley, Monoclone Girl, Banbridge Academy; 6) Zara Smith, Killucan Boy, Dromore High School.

Open Teams: 1) Down High Eagles: Zara Sharvin, Ruby; Abby Cumminskey, Jacob; Rachel Broome, Cookies ‘n’ Crème; Tara Emmett, Diamond Girl; 2) Wallace High School: Kerry Magill, The Ferryman; Connie Crothers, Estella; Kerry Magill, Orrfield Hip Hop; Sarah Moore, Scooby; 3) Ballyclare High School: Felicity McConnell, Finding Nemo; Luca Moore, Nomination; Katie Flanagan, Son of Loki; Felicity McConnell, Knockagarron Fear Bui Princess; 4) Enniskillen Royal Grammar School: Sophia Williams, Mongorry Cruise Molly; Patrick Williams, Coill Dearmad William; Sophia Williams, Winnie; 5) Down High Flyers: Katie Watson, Lissyegan Bay News; Megan Nelson, Fancy; Cara McNabb, Killone Leo; Conor Findlay, Curry Granny Wise Guy Duke; 6) Banbridge Academy McWilliams: Ellie McElroy, Loughdoo Maverick; Julia Herron, Twentypark Emperess; Eve Fitzsimmons, Godan Dagon Vik; Molly Davidson, Bellindene Fagin.

Open Individual 1m: 1) Niamh Fitzpatrick, Newmarket Trooper, Methodist College; 2) Megan Nelson, Fancy, Down High School; 3) Rebecca Smyth, Rooney, Ballyclare High School; 4) Ellen McEvoy, Twilight Dancer, Aquinas; 5) Gracie Bright, Monroe Star, Antrim Grammar; 6) Charlotte Keers, Western Ocala, Strathearn School.

Premier Individual 1.10m: 1) Zara Sharvin, Ruby, Down High School; 2) Emily Steele, Dougie, Down High School; 3) Naoimh Lavery, Rock Tempo, Down High School; 4) Tyler Houston, Muckno Magic, Larne Grammar School; 5) Fecility McConnell, Finding Nemo, Ballyclare High School; 6) Charley Love, Rookie Diamond, Castlederg High School.

Bree Rutledge

If you would like to find out more about Horse Week, Bree Rutledge can be contacted by email: or or by telephone: +44 (0) 28 9033 4493.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.