Laurel View Working Hunter Show: a day to remember

Laurel Working Hunter BR Farm
ACTION: 1 metre pony class winners, Bethany Smith and ‘Dun Surprise’, in action at the Laurel View Working Hunter Show. (FW18-507NN)

RYAN Anderson kindly agreed to judge the Laurel View 2020 Winter Working Hunter Show back on a very special day, 02/02/2020 – the first “global” palindrome date since 11/11/1111. The winners will hopefully remember what they were doing on this once in a lifetime date.

Competitors should check out the Working Hunter Show Equi-tog photos at to see if they can select a photo to commemorate the occasion.

80CM: It was a win in the 80cm class for Katelyn Irvine and her pony ‘Duach Shadow’ at the Laurel View Working Hunter Show. (FW18-506NN)

Ryan was assisted on the day by his scribe Brooke Ronan, who had the task of recording Ryan’s scores to come up with the Working Hunter winners list below.

Special mention must go to the champions of the Horse and Pony classes. Winning the Working Hunter Championship title and taking home the David Warwick Memorial Cup for the year was Kathryn Knox riding ‘Braeview Codega’, with Rosie Alcorn and ‘Centrefold Belle’ taking the Reserve Champion accolade. Both Champion and Reserve were rewarded with prizes supplied by Comfort Gut.

Oliver Kinnear riding ‘Bronheulog Harvey’ won the Working Hunter Pony Champion rosette and Comfort Gut Champions prize, while the reserve prize went to Katelyn Irvine and ‘Duach Shadow’.

The next Working Hunter competition at Laurel View will hopefully be at the Summer Show, provisionally on the calendar for September 6. To keep up with what is happening at Laurel View just follow them on Facebook.


February 2

Winter Working Hunter Show

Judge – Ryan Anderson

Working Hunter Horses

Class 1 – 60cm Working Hunter Horse: 1) Darcy, Clare McVeigh; 2) Reeba, Meaghann Crawford; 3) Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Jennifer Hamill; 4) Grease Lightning, Mel Gibson.

Class 2 – 60cm Four-year-old Working Hunter Horse (born 2016): No entries forward.

Class 3 – 70cm Working Hunter Horse: 1) Lady Zara, Grace Morton; 2) Beechmount Charona, Adele Huddleson; 3) Knowehead Belle, Claire Gilchrist; 4) Darcy, Clare McVeigh; 5) Grease Lightning, Mel Gibson; 6) Breakfast at Tiffanys, Jennifer Hamill.

Class 4 – 80cm Working Hunter Horse: 1) Braeview Codega, Kathryn Knox; 2) Lady Zara, Grace Morton; 3) PJ, Eileen Jones; 4) Belle, Claire Gilchrist; 5) Donegreagh Quinn, Debbie Ramsbottom; 6) Flick, Selina Forrester.

Class 5 – 80cm Cobs Working Hunter: No entries forward.

Class 6 – 85cm Small Working Hunter Horse (not exceeding 158cm): 1) Beechburn Lass, Chloe Thompson; 2) Barney, Declan O’Neill; 3) Sonics Pride, Kirsten Morrison; 4) Cindy Loi, Aoife Hagan; 5) Burnished Denman, Charlotte McCullough; 6) Donegreagh Quinn, Debbie Ramsbottom.

Class 7 – 90cm Working Hunter Horse: 1) Beechburn Lass, Chloe Thompson; 2) Centrefold Belle, Rosie Alcorn; 3) Rocky, Victoria Craig; 4) Fortrock Aughaway, Rosie Alcorn.

Class 8 – 1m Working Hunter Horse: 1) Centrefold Belle, Rosie Alcorn.

Class 9 – 1.10m Working Hunter Horse: No entries forward.

David Warwick Memorial Cup for Working Hunter Horse Champion: Braeview Codega, ridden by Kathryn Knox; Working Hunter Horse Reserve Champion: Centrefold Belle, Rosie Alcorn.

Working Hunter Ponies

Class 10 – 40cm Working Hunter Pony: 1) Wellbrow Kane, Cassie McMaw; 2) Bobo, Paige Erwin; 3) Prince Charming, Megan Reid.

Class 11 – 50cm Working Hunter Pony: 1) Loneash Daisy, Fergus Lowry; 2) Prince Charming, Megan Reid; 3) Wellbrow Kane, Cassie McMaw.

Class 12 – 60cm Working Hunter Pony: 1) Waitwith Dynasty, Eve Lindsay; 2) Lone Ash Daisy, Fergus Lowry; 3) Rowan, Megan Houston; 4) Made in Japan, Annie Morrow; 5) Missy Moo, Megan Reid; 6) Henry, Cayleigh Erwin.

Class 13 – 70cm Working Hunter Pony: 1) Bronheulog Harvey, Oliver Kinnear; 2) Waitwith Dynasty, Eve Lindsay; 3) Rowan, Megan Houston; 4) Tableybrook Henry, Ella Lindsay; 5) Donaghmore Melody Song, Sarah Brashaw; 6) Made in Japan, Annie Morrow.

Class 14 – 80cm Working Hunter Pony: 1) Duach Shadow, Katelyn Irvine; 2) Jasper, Sarah Craig; 3) Grey Dawn, Megan Houston; 4) Bronheulog Harvey, Oliver Kinnear; 5) Tableybrook Henry, Ella Lindsay.

Class 15 – 90cm Working Hunter Pony: 1) Pippa, Cora McNulty; 2) Duach Shadow, Katelyn Irvine; 3) Grey Dawn, Megan Houston.

Class 16 – 1m Working Hunter Pony: 1) Dun Surprise, Bethany Smith.

HAPPY: Fergus Lowry looks pleased with the red rosette he and ‘Loneash Daisy’ won for the 50cm class at the Laurel View Working Hunter Show. (FW18-505NN)

Working Hunter Pony Champion: Bronheulog Harvey, Oliver Kinnear; Working Hunter Pony Reserve Champion: Duach Shadow, Katelyn Irvine.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here