Liam is Macra’s Young Farmer of the Year

AWARD: Liam Hanrahan, winner of the FBD Young Farmer of the Year award.

LIAM Hanrahan, a dairy farmer from Clare, took home the top prize as he was crowned the 2019 FBD Macra Na Feirme Young Farmer of the Year.

Liam holds a PhD in Dairy Farm Efficiency and has significant international farming experience in New Zealand and France. He is currently the director of Callanview Farm Limited and an active member of Kilrush Macra.

The evening also saw a number of additional category winners:

n Shane Fitzgerald of Waterford won the Dairy category

n Edward Egan of Roscommon won the Land Mobility category

n Alan Doyle of Kilkenny won the Dry Stock Category

n Daniel Hickey of Carbery won the Other Enterprises category

n Sinead Conry of Roscommon won the Best Emerging Young Farmer Award

n Sean Roddy of Kildare won the Most Climate Change Conscious Young Farmer Award

n Thomas Kane of Cavan won the Best Young Farm Manager Award

n Alan Doyle of Kilkenny was awarded the NRN Biodiversity Young Farmer of the Year Award, sponsored by the National Rural Network.

Macra na Feirme National President Thomas Duffy said: “The FBD Young Farmer of the Year Awards are one of Macra’s biggest nights of the year. It is wonderful to have the entire farming industry together to celebrate young farmers.

“The members participating tonight are the future of farming in Ireland, the cohort tonight have shown that the future is indeed bright.”

Mr Duffy added: “It was clearly evident from all the finalists tonight that many of our young farmers have been supported in their journey into farming by their parents.

“It is important that we continue to support and encourage succession planning in agriculture through family succession or partnership opportunities available through Macra’s Land Mobility Service to ensure the future sustainability of Ireland’s largest indigenous industry.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here