Thursday, January 27, 2022
HomeFarmweek NewsMatthew Simms champion of the field at New Year’s Day match

Matthew Simms champion of the field at New Year’s Day match

BALLYCASTLE and District Tractor Ploughing Society held its New Year’s Day Ploughing Match at Lime-park, Gracehill Road, Armoy, on lands kindly granted by David and James Laverty. Great weather and ideal ground conditions saw a good turnout of ploughmen and spectators.

Many thanks to the following judges: William Hood, Des Wright, William King, George Murphy, David Wallace, Brian O’Neill and Dermot O’Hanlan.


12” Open World Style – 1st Matthew Simms; 2nd Andrew Gill; 3rd Allen McAnallyl 4th Gary Simms; 5th Rodney Crawford.

12” Confined World Style – 1st Jack Wright; 2nd Pat O’Donnell; 3rd Tommy Stewart.

World Style Reversible – 1st Adrian Jamison; 2nd James Coulter; 3rd David Wright; 4th Martin Stewart.

Vintage Senior – 1st Seamus Crossan; 2nd David Grattan; 3rd Gerry Burn; 4th Geoffrey Marks.

Vintage Novice – 1st Thomas Nevin; 2nd Martin Beattie; 3rd Hugh McCormick.

Classic Class – 1st William Purcell; 2nd Dai Kennedy; 3rd Wilbert Simpson.

Special prizes

Best work by a Massey Ferguson tractor – William Purcell

Most original and best restored vintage tractor – Seamus Crossan

Best work by a first time ploughman at Ballycastle – Thomas Nevin

Best work by a member of Ballycastle PS – Adrian Jamsion

Youngest ploughman – Jack Wright

Best ploughman under 25 – Jack Wright

Best vintage opening – William Purcell

Best vintage finish – William Purcell

Best butts in class 3 – Adrian Jamison

Best opening world style – Matthew Simms

Best finish world style – Matthew Simms

Best ins and outs – Matthew Simms

Best work by a KV plough – Matthew Simms

Vintage champion – William Purcell

Runner up to champion of the field – Andrew Gill

Champion of the field – Matthew Simms

The society would like to express sincere thanks to David and James Lavery for putting such excellent land at its disposal, to Armoy Community Association for the use of parking facilities, to the Press and to the ladies who provided the refreshments, a special thanks to the sponsors for their continued support without whose help it would be impossible to run a match.

Thanks to the committee for its help in preparing the site and help to run the match so efficiently. Thanks also to the many spectators on the day.

Finally thanks to all who gave donations towards this year’s nominated charity, Marie Curie Cancer Care, a very worthy cause.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.