Saturday, September 18, 2021
HomeHorse LeagueMeadows hosts penultimate leg of National Pony Spring Tour

Meadows hosts penultimate leg of National Pony Spring Tour

A busy day was had by all who attended the Meadows Equestrian Centre, Lurgan on Sunday, June 6, as they ran the penultimate leg of the National Pony Spring Tour, sponsored by Equijump Ltd. With both arenas at the Meadows centre at full speed, the day ran without any issue, with all riders getting to go home before the evening closed in.

In Arena 1, the Children on Horses riders started off the day with their 1.10m/ 1.20m handicap. Recording an unstoppable time was Tadhg Dillon with Geraldine Gallagher’s ‘Rhonda’. Later in the day, the 148 1.10m athletes put on a display of true horsemanship, with local rider Lucy Morton recording the fastest round of the day with Patricia Harrison’s ‘Rickamore Sport’, breaking the finish beam in 28.37 seconds, over two seconds ahead of Tadhg Dillion with ‘Ballagh Shannon’ to deny him two wins from two.

Later in the afternoon, the 148 1.20m ponies came out in force. The competition resulted in a nail-biting finish with several combinations challenging the time set by pathfinder Coen Williams with the incredibly talented bay stallion, ‘Machnus D’Hyrencourt’. Second place went to Cait Kenny on this occasion, with less than one second separating her from Williams.

The Meadows welcomed Irish Chef d’Equipe Gary Marshall to the centre for the 148 1.30m viewing class. A strong course was designed by resident international course designer, Aaron McCusker; the purpose of the course was to test and to challenge those with their sights on achieving success at the European Championships in Strzegom (POL) in August. On this occasion, only one combination was successful in negotiating the course without penalty – that was Connaught’s Paddy Reape, who steered ‘Valma DE Fougnard’ to victory.

Arena 2 was a hive of activity, as it commenced the day with the 128 Under 10s Spring Tour. Combinations from all over Ireland competed in a tightly fought contest.

Winning the class was Munster’s Charlie Flynn with Jonathan Flynn’s ‘Bjerregards


The 128 1m class has always been a hotly fought contest and, once again, this class did not disappoint! With some of the best ponies in Ireland going head-to-head for the valuable series points, on this occasion it was Charlie Flynn once again taking the winner’s rosette and maximum points with Paula Williams’ ‘Parc Giggles’.

Completing the competitions in Arena 2 was the 138 1.10m Spring Tour, in the class, nine combinations made it faultlessly through the first round of the course designed by Cavan’s finest, Alan Lynch. The class was won by Senan Reape with Jonathan Reape’s ‘Small Titan’, stopping the clock on 32.91 seconds, ahead of Lauren Adams with seasoned campaigner ‘Riot del Pegulil’, third place on this occasion went to Zara Jane Kelly with ‘Future Memories’.


Sunday, June 6

National Pony Spring Tour

Children On Horses 1.10m: 1) Geraldine Gallagher’s Rhonda IHR, Tadhg Dillon; 2) Fiona Kelly’s Quantum Quest, Eoghan McGrath; 3) Adam Carey’s High Five, Jamie Hargaden; 4) James Oakey’s Cinnickroodnoot, Abbie Oakey; 5) Lyndsay Barnett’s Morning de la Bouverie, Ava Stubbs; 6) Declan Dooley’s Woodview’s Willow, Gary Dooley.

148 1.10m Warm Up: 1) Patricia Harrison’s Rickamore Sport, Lucy Morton; 2) Donal Mitchell’s Ballagh Shannon, Tadhg Dillon; 3) Amanda Lynch’s Springfield Oliver, Ben Walsh; 4) Declan Dooley’s Kingdom Connie, Gary Dooley; 5) Sandra Duffy’s Mister Jones, Robyn Lee; 6) James Kernan’s Johnny Jinx, Coen Williams.

148 1.20m Spring Tour: 1) Leo Monaghan’s Machnus D’Hyrencourt Z, Coen Williams; 2) Sorcha Kenny’s River View Annie, Cáit Kenny; 3) Holmestead Saddlery’s Holmestead Saddlery Prada, John Kirrane; 4) Sara Pothmann Cullen’s Flash Park Cavalier, Ellie Pothmann; 5) Sharon Kelly-Murphy’s Clinton Class, Alfie Adair; 6) Hughie Doyle’s Trendy Blue, Bridin Doyle.

148 1.30m: 1) Foleys Ponys’s Valma DE Fougnard, Paddy Reape.

128 85cm Under 10s: 1) Jonathan Flynn’s Bjerregards Katja, Charlie Flynn; 2) Knockeen Racing Ltd’s Grantstown Snoopy, Georgia de Bromhead; 3) Dearbhla Moloney’s Magnificant Magnet, Aimee Moloney; 4) Jillian Nelson’s Knockmenagh Rocco, Juliana Nelson; 5) Niki Taylor’s Maximilo, Medb Kinney; 6) James Kernan’s Avas Ruby, Medb Kinney.

128 90cm Warm Up: 1) Jonathan Flynn’s Bjerregards Katja, Charlie Flynn; 1) Vincent Howley’s Bossinova, Padraig Howley Jnr; 1) Knockeen Racing Ltd’s Pablo V, Georgia de Bromhead; 2) Paula Williams’s Penchwintan Glynle, Charlie Flynn; 3) Jonathan Flynn’s Kroggaardens Harry Potter, Charlie Flynn; 4) Jill Twomey’s Paulank Pumpkin, Emily O’Brien; 5) Fran Elizabeth Rush’s Lackaghmore Cat, Harry Rush; 6) Jenna Fitzpatrick Burns’ Chocolat II, Johan Fitzpatrick Burns.

128 1m Spring Tour: 1) Paula Williams’s Parc Giggles, Charlie Flynn; 2) Foleys Ponys’s The Silver Legend, Ruben Foley; 3) Breda McMunn’s MoonFlower (CHAPS), Cian McMunn; 4) Knockeen Racing Ltd’s Back In A Flash (WB), Jack de Bromhead; 5) Fran Elizabeth Rush’s Tower View Lady, Harry Rush; 6) Vincent Howley’s Bossinova, Padraig Howley Jnr.

138 1m Warm Up: 1) Dearbhla Moloney’s Kilpatrick Cindy, Charlie Weldon; 2) Martin & Tracy Kelly’s Lurganmore Little Rocket, Zara-Jane Kelly; 3) Killian McCarthy’s Little Field Clover, Lucy McCarthy; 4) Katheryne McCracken’s Tynan Rocket, Charlotte McCracken; 5) Ashley Bingham’s All Being Well, Sophia Bingham; 6) Heather De Bromhead’s Mulbrooke Chilli, Jack de Bromhead.

138 1.10m Spring Tour: 1) Jonathan Reape’s Small Titan, Senan Reape; 2) Dale Adams’s Riot Del Pegulil, Lauren Adams; 3) Martin & Tracy Kelly’s Future Memories, Zara-Jane Kelly; 4) Jonathan Reape’s Ti Chip, Senan Reape; 5) Bob Sweeney’s Warwick Ginger, Conrad Sweeney; 6) Brian Sheehan’s Bay Times, Isobel Sheehan.

Bree Rutledge

If you would like to find out more about Horse Week, Bree Rutledge can be contacted by email: or or by telephone: +44 (0) 28 9033 4493.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.