Mounthill Fair Society donates to charity at its annual dinner

ABOVE: Jamie Leigh Wilkin receives the Alex McWhirter Shield.

A cheque for £600 was ha-nded over to Arthritis Care

Northern Ireland by Mount-hill Fair Society at its annual presentation dinner at the Masonic Centre, Larne.

AWARD: Houston Crooks receiving the Mounthill Fair Cup and Robert McDowell Memorial Cup from Mrs Wilma Beggs.

The money had been raised at the fair, which had taken place on its traditional date of the first Saturday in October, held once more on the lands of the Mackey family, Crosshill Road, just overlooking the picturesque village of Gleno.

Ailish Cullen of Arthritis Care NI thanked the Fair Society for its generosity.

Chairman John Cross, who wel-comed the good turnout of members and friends, expressed thanks to the Mackey Family for the use of the land; the various sponsors; Mid and East Antrim Borough Council; competitors, judges, stewards, trad-ers, entertainers, Terry’s Outside Catering for ‘Big Ted’ and for the hospitality for the judges and artists; members of the Northern Ireland Donkey Society; Gleno Veterinary for the Pet Show; the vintage folk, the general public; PSNI Larne, Raloo Boys’ Brigade; St John Ambulance, announcers; the hard working committee; Larne Masonic Centre for hosting the function and the regular meetings; Geoff Murray for the music; all those who

donated prizes for the ballot and auction at the dinner, and every-

one who helped in any way to

make this year’s fair and dinner a success.

There was also a new cup donated, the James Gilmour Memorial Cup for the best pen of crossbred ewes.

The auction was conducted by vice chairman Jim Gilmour.

Mr Cross, assisted by Mark Graham, announced the following winners, who received their awards from Mrs Wilma Beggs:

Mounthill Fair Cup, for the Champion Foal: Houston Crooks

Robert McDowell Memorial Cup for the Best All Round Mare: Houston Crooks.

Alex McWhirter Shield for Riding/Hunter Pony Championship: Jamie Leigh Wilkin

Closheen Shield for the Highest Placed 3 year old Filly: Frank Dickey

McClure Cup for Champion Horse: Frank Dickey

Firgrove Stables Trophy for Lead Rein-Tiny Tots: Lila Rea

Clifford Trophy for Local Lead Rein: Lila Rea

William McDowell Memorial Shield, for Local First Ridden: Eve Lindsay

McKee Challenge Trophy for Open First Ridden: Ella Lindsay

William Warren Memorial Shield for Open Ridden, 138 cms: Ella Lindsay

Alex Martin Memorial Shield, for Open Ridden, 148 cms: Grace Morton

JA Craig Trophy, for Horse Riding Class: Libby Anderson

Robert Moore Memorial Champion of Champions Trophy: Mark McCord

Sam Howie Shield for Best Cob; Mark McCord

William Moore Memorial Cup for Champion Clydesdale: Pat O’Boyle

Kenny McCowan Memorial Shield, for Reserve Champion Clydesdale: Taggart Family.

David Crawford Memorial Shield, for the Best Clydesdale Foal: D and R Ryan

David Graham Memorial Shield, for the Best Male Clydesdale: D and R Ryan

Albert Tipple Memorial Shield, for Young Handler: Matthew Morton.

RJ Hill Cup for the Best Donkey: Anne Brown

Folklore Society Trophy for Farm Cart Turnout: Ann McHenry

Alexander Caldwell Memorial Cup for the Sheep Championship: Cameron Agnew

Haveron Family Shield for Best Ram at Fair: Jane Buckley.

LEFT: Enjoying the dinner, June McDowell, Councillor Mark McKinty, John Dooris, Linda Hunter, Reuben Dooris.

Tom Alexander Trophy for Best Pen of Ewe Lambs: Robin Gilmour. James Gilmour Memorial Cup for Best Pen of Crossbred Ewes: Robin Gilmour.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here