Wednesday, January 19, 2022
HomeHorse LeagueNational Grand Prix excitement at Connell Hill

National Grand Prix excitement at Connell Hill

WITH great anticip-ation, Connell Hill (Randalstown) was delighted to host the National Grand Prix two-day show on Friday, June 25 and Saturday, June 26. Despite the weather on the Friday, competitors enjoyed a superb days jumping, over what was a terrific course built by Gueorgu Gueorguiev.

Senior National Judge, Nicola Tang commented that it was great to see such a great turnout and that still under covid regulations everyone enjoyed being able

to compete in such a prestigious event.

The big class of the day was of course, the 1.35m and again Gueorgu did not disappoint with the course. The winner, Simon Scott on ‘Ploverfield Lilyana’, jumped a super clear in a very fast time of 26 seconds, just pipping second placed Luke Campbell on ‘Corlioni’ to the post.

Jumping continued on the Saturday and competitors were glad to see the sun shining. Again, with the course being built by Gue-orgui Gueorguiev and judges Nicola Tang and Linda Skillen, competitors were back to try for the big prize in the Grand Prix class.

Massive congratulations to

Kenneth Graham on ‘Beir Blue’ on taking first place and to Sven Hadley on a very close second.

Connell Hill would also like to thank the Friday sponsors: CU Chulainn Bits Ltd, R Nesbitt Paddock Equipment, Jacksons Butchers, Horse-ware National League, LVY Contracts and Irish Waste and also judges, Nicola Tang and Linda Skillen, who helped to make it such a successful day.

Sponsors on the Saturday were LVY Contracts, Jazz Sports Horses, Gain Pet Nutrition and Alltech.

Gain Pet Nutrition spec-ialises in Premium food for dogs and cats, providing a total nutritional solution for all dog and cat owners. Another sponsor of the Grand Prix class was Earthtech, which does ground work, kerbing, arena maintenance and equipment and are based in Ballymoney.

A big thank you to all who competed, helped and sponsored to make what was a great show for all.

There is another exciting and busy week coming up at Connell Hill, with the Youngster Tour on Saturday, July 3 and the Five-Star Tour on Sunday, July 4. All up and coming show details and entry can be found on the website:


Friday, June 25

90cm Cu Chulainn Bits Ltd: 1) Laura Gordon, Bray-hill Wonder; 2) Naomi McCavana, Ferro Charm; 3) Niamh McDaid, Castledoe Olive; 4) Helen Pearson, It’s Partytime Coco; 5) Barry McCormack, Ludo’s Promise; 6) Nicky Nesbitt, Carrickview Saratoga.

1m Nesbitt Paddock Equip-ment: 1) Grace McGarry, Just Because D&M; 2) Harriet Whoriskey Heaney, Carnone Annanle; 3) Grace McGarry, Imanthos; 4) Harriet Whor-iskey Heaney, Quality Quick Star; 5) Caroline Gaston, Attyrory Ark; 6) Katie McEntee, NewMarket Ruby.

1.10m Jacksons Butchers: 1) Sarah Baillie, Lisnamorrows Echoizer; 2) Emma McEntee, Gelvin Hero; 3) Ross Tearty, Clonboo Babys Boy; 4) Shane McCloskey, Ballyshan Tolux; 5) Lesley Jones, Cairnview Redwood Guy; 6) Simon Scott, Luxs Like Candy.

1.10m Horseware National Ladies League: 1) Jodie Creighton, Glenguille View; 2) Kadri Lumila, Cruising Casey; 3) Jane Kealey, Danny Boy; 4) Heather Graham, Flutter Bye; 5) Katy McLean, Drumrankin Serpent; 6) Olivia A Roulston, CBS Quinntina HSI.

1.20m I LVY Contracts: 1) John Higgins, C and G Pie; 2) John Higgins, Val de Mazero; 3) Jonathan Smyth, Ardragh Cordubh; 4) Eve Donnelly, Beechmore Lady Lux; 5) Simon Scott, Jasmine Tide; 6) Harry Marshall, Tango ET.

1.35m Irish Waste: 1) Simon Scott, Ploverfield Lilyana; 2) Luke Campbell, Coriloni; 3) Simon Scott, Master Millar; 4) Jonathan Smyth, Ardagh Cordubh; 5) Luke Campbell, Derryinver Premier Sarah; 6) Jonathan Smyth, Crystal Graf.

Saturday, June 26

1.10m LVY Contracts: 1) Robert McKee, Dark Art; 2) Chloe Graham, KEC Lanz; 3) Alix Robinson, Garrison Prince; 4) Rebecca Patterson, Galwaybay Jack; 5) Melanie Moorhead, Irish Twang; 6) Alex Finney, Cuffesgrange Caballus.

1.20m LVY Contracts: 1)

Michael Cave, Mirdads LPM;

2) Sean Foley, Mirdads Zam-zaaam; 3) Edward Little, Drum-

iller Daytona; 4) Paul Caves, Cafre Quality Clover; 5) Megan McGettigan, Tullabeg George; 6) Taylor Hunter, Bann Ferro.

1.30m Jazz Sport Horse: 1) Michael Cave, Gortshalgan; 2) Sven Hadley, Topspin; 3)

Tori Dunn, Brookville Lux; 4) Kenneth Graham, Dr No

Equinex Z; 5) Finney, Ab-solutely Kingmar Z; 6) Zoe Woods, Without Permission.

Earthtech Ltd 1.40m Nat-ional Grand Prix Gain/Alltech: 1) Kenneth Graham, Beir Bua; 2) Sven Hadley, Uidan; 3) John McLaughlin, Lincourt Luidam; 4) Jonathan Smyth, Mulvin Lights out; 5) Sven Hadley, Topspin; 6) Edward Little, HSC Sunny Jim.

Bree Rutledge

If you would like to find out more about Horse Week, Bree Rutledge can be contacted by email: or or by telephone: +44 (0) 28 9033 4493.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.