NI Texel Club elects officers at AGM

LEFT: Alistair Sampson presents the Volac Show Championship category trophies at the Texel AGM.

THE NI Texel Breeders’ Club members gathered at Greenmount Agricultural College for their AGM recently. Club Chairman Martin Cromie welcomed the turnout of members, friends and guest speaker Noirin McHugh, Research Officer, Teagasc, who also sponsored the event.

Proceedings commenced with Mr Cromie inviting Alistair Sampson, Volac, to present the trophies to the Volac Show Championship 2018 category winners. Results were as follows:

RIGHT: Henry Gamble, Chairman, welcomes Nigel Hamill, Jean McCollam, Jonny Bell and Andrew Moses onto the Texel Club Committee.

Ewe Lamb – Andrew Moses; Ram Lamb – Alastair Gault; Aged Ram – Ben Casement; Shearling Ram – Henry Gamble; Aged Ewe – Adrian Liggett; Shearling Ewe – Andre Moses.

Ms McHugh then gave an informative talk on the Irish Sheep Breeding Programme. After a short question and answer session outgoing Club Chairman Martin Cromie got club business underway and along with Peter Boyd presented £3,000 from money raised at the Open Night to Naomi Breen, Diabetes UK-NI. Ms Breen thanked the club for its generosity, outlining how the proceeds would support the ongoing work of the charity.

Previous minutes were agreed with Mr Cromie announcing the election of longstanding members John Currie and Ian Millar as Honorary Presidents.

Mr Cromie highlighted the club successes throughout the shows, sales and activities of 2018.

He thanked all the members who took part in the various competitions throughout the year, highlighting the importance of sponsors in their continued support, without which the club would be unable to run these events.

Congratulations went to those who took home trophies and encouraging the members to compete in 2019.

As part of his resume of events, congratulations were expressed to those who participated at the RUAS Balmoral Show, keeping Texels to the fore; to Brian Williamson on achieving the top price for his Shearling Ram exhibit at the Premier and to Naomi Ardis for taking top price for her Ram Lamb exhibit.

Mr Cromie confirmed the new date for the Premier sale would be the last Wednesday in August. Congratulations were also extended to John Foster as overall winner of the Flock Competition and to Alastair Gault as overall winner of the Volac Show Flock.

Mr Cromie paid special thanks to all the committee members, convenors and judges for their hard work and support of the club’s activities.

He highlighted that without their hard work, support and commitment the club would not be able to function smoothly.

He proceeded to give special acknowledgement to the com-mitment and hard work over the past 10 years of Marcus Barton, Minutes Secretary, who on his retirement was presented with the Chairman’s Trophy.

Mr Cromie then welcomed Henry Gamble as incoming Chairman. Mr Gamble thanked Mr Cromie for his efforts over the past two years as Chairman.

A detailed report of the year’s accounts was given by Treasurer Brian McAllister followed by the election of three new committee members, Nigel Hamill, Andrew Moses and Jonny Bell, with the role of Vice Chairman handed to Frazer Tweed and that of Minutes Secretary to Jean McCollam.

WELCOME: Henry Gamble, newly elected Chairman, welcomes Ian Millar and John Currie as Honorary Presidents on the Texel Club Committee

The Chairman also expressed particular thanks to those who sponsored the club throughout the year, namely Volac, Fane Valley, Bank of Ireland, Glen Farm Supplies, Farmcare, Farmware Supplies, Holden Agr Ltd, Tullivin Growvire, Smyths Daleside, SH Coleman, Danske, Osmonds and Oldstone Veterinary.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here