Ploughmen collect awards at Killead

n David Wallace, chairman, Killead Ploughing Society, presents the Clyde Cup for the champion of the field to Andrew Gill.

KILLEAD Ploughing Society held its annual dinner and presentation of awards in Templepatrick.

Society chairman David Wallace welcomed everyone and said he was delighted to see such an excellent turnout.

n Andrew Gill and girlfriend Ashley Coyle pictured with the array of silverware won by Andrew at Killead Ploughing Society’s annual dinner in Templepatrick. :

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who supported our 103rd annual match, especially our valued sponsors and competitors, and the McCabe family for the use of their land.”

These words were echoed by vice-chairman William Johnston. “Thanks to our judges William Hood, David Percy and George Murphy. We are also indebted to the ladies who provided the delicious lunch, and to our sponsors for their continued financial support.”

Sponsors of the 103rd match included William Johnston, Drumhill Tractors, Hyde Farm Feeds, Erwin Agri-Care Ltd, Ashdale Farm, Islandbawn Stores, Greenmount Country Stores, George Fleming, RG Erwin Agricultural Contracts and Lyle Fleming, Glenburn Veterinary.

Speaking on behalf of the judges, William Hood said: “I’ve had a long association with Killead Ploughing Society, and it was a pleasure to judge at this year’s match. It was a cold day, and it was great to see a good turnout of ploughmen in all classes. We would like to thank the members of Killead for their excellent hospitality.”

David Wallace and William Hood said they were delighted to see the younger generation taking an interest in ploughing. “Well done to James Coulter and Andrew Gill who competed in Minnesota earlier this year. They won bronze medals, which is a tremendous achievement considering they were using borrowed machinery,” said David Wallace.

William Hood added: “Over the past year there has been a number of younger competitors taking an interest in ploughing. Thanks to David Gill and founder members of the Ploughing Academy for Northern Ireland for supporting and encouraging the next generation of ploughmen.”

Concluding, David Wallace congratulated the prize winners, including champion of the field Andrew Gill, who is set to compete in Russia in 2020. “Best wishes to Andrew as he prepares for the World Ploughing Championships in Russia next year.”

Society secretary Erwin Buick, and his wife Rachel, were presented with a wedding present.

Mrs Mandy McCabe presented the awards.

Trophy winners included:

Clyde Memorial Cup for the champion of the field: Andrew Gill.

Mobil Oil Company Plaque for the runner-up to the champion of the field: David Gill.

Des Wright Cup for the best opening in the world class: Andrew Gill.

Special award for the best split openings in the world class: Andrew Gill.

Gallagher Cup for the best finish in the world class: Andrew Gill.

McClelland Cup for the winner of the 12” world style class: Andrew Gill.

A Pinkerton Memorial Cup for the best work by a competitor under 25: James McComb.

York Street Cup for the best ins and outs: David Gill.

Wilson’s Feeds Cup for the best work by a member of Killead Ploughing Society: Brian McComb.

RA Erwin Memorial Cup for the youngest ploughman: Jack Moore.

Sam Moore Memorial Cup for the best turned out tractor and plough: Nigel Gamble.

Gray Contracts Cup for the winner of the under 25 reversible class: James McComb.

Don Wright Cup for the winner of the commercial reversible class: Brian McComb.

Macrete (Ireland) Perpetual Cup for the winner of the intermediate vintage class: Raymond Clifford.

Hyde Cup for the winner of the novice vintage class: Hugh McCormick.

n Marc Gamble receives the Erwin Memorial Cup for the youngest ploughman, on behalf of Jack Moore, from match host Colin McCabe. :

Simms Cup for the winner of the vintage classic class: Nigel Gamble.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here