PM praises the Young Farmers

50 Oct 7 1969 praise SM Farm

You play a key role in doing much to ensure that tolerant and responsible men and women emerge from the youth of today,” the Prime Minister, Major James DL Chichester-Clark, told a gathering of young farmers from the United Kingdom and Eire last week.

Major Chichester Clark, who was speaking at the annual re-union of the Young Farmers’ Club of Ulster, added: “You deserve congratulation from your past efforts on this your 40th anniversary.

“I understand that your Leadership Training Fund has now raised almost £1,600 and this is symptomatic of your achievements. I wish you well for the future.”

The Prime Minister was introduced by Mr Joe Patton, president of the YFCU, who also introduced Councillor A W McGowan, chairman of Newtownabbey Urban District Council, who extended a civic welcome to the young farmers and their guests.

Visitors from the sister organisations of the YFCU included Mr Kiernan Curtin, President, and Mr Joyn O’Meara, Macra na Tuaite, Mr T Gillespie, Chairman, and Mr R F Gregor, Secretary of the Scottish Association of Young Farmers’ Clubs, and Mr Keith Stevens, vice-chairman of the National Federation of Young Farmers Clubs in England and Wales.

Mr William Finney of Mallusk, Co Antrim, a vice-president of the Association, who has played an active role in the YFCU movement in Ulster for more than a quarter of a century, was presented with a transistor radio as a mark of appreciation of his services.

Major Chichester-Clark presented the special cups for club performance during the past year, for the “Ulster Young Farmer” and the silage competitions, and also the awards won by clubs at the YFCU Arts Festival.

Coleraine YFC won the four major cups – The Ballyvester Cup, 16-25 age group, and Dobbs Cup 12-16 age group for the highest aggregate points scored in all YFCU competitions; also the Mulholland Cup, 16-25 age group, and E T Green Cup 12-16 age group, for the highest aggregate points scored in all YFCU stock judging competitions.

They were received on behalf of Coleraine by Mr William A King, club president.

Robert McCloy, Limavady, received the McCausland trophy as Ulster Young Farmer of the Year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here