Wednesday, October 20, 2021
HomeHorse WeekHorse EventsPopularity of Inter-Schools’ jumping means two days of top competition

Popularity of Inter-Schools’ jumping means two days of top competition

THE second leg of the TRI Inter-schools’ show jumping league took place at the Meadows Equestrian Centre, Lurgan at the weekend, alongside the excitement of the TRI relaunch following their recent renovations. The popularity of this schools’ competition and the huge number of entries, meant that it was the first leg of the 2021 league that took place over two days!

The Wee Rascals dominated the Novice teams, with a convincing win over 22 other teams, to put them in a strong position after only two legs of the league.

In the Open team class, taking the winners’ rosettes were ‘The Rascals’ – one of only three teams to record a clean sheet, but in the fastest combined time.

In arena 2, the Secondary Individual class was won by Lurgan Junior High’s Jack Cowan with the very talented ‘Take Two’. Cowan had a very successful outing also picking up third place with ‘Edentrillick Honeybee’.

In the Open Individual class, it was a nail-biting finish in the all-female line up, with just one-fifth of a second separating first and second placings. It was Sophia Bingham with ‘All Being Well’ from Cambridge House Grammar School that clinched the winner’s rosette; second place on this occasion went to Cara McNabb with ‘Killone Leo’.

On day two, the 50cm Primary competition once again proved popular with young upcoming riders, with the class winner Frank McCusker coming within 0.21 seconds of the optimum time of 51 seconds, with the steadfast ‘Peaches’.

In the Primary team competition, the Iveagh Little Mix team led the way after recording some very fast clear rounds.

In the Primary Individual 70cm class, the fastest competition of the second day, it was Cliodhna McEvoy from St Francis Primary School, Aghaderg, who put her foot down to take home the winner’s rosette with her fast-footed pony, ‘Romeo’.


Saturday, October 2 and Sunday, October 3

TRI Inter-Schools’ show jumping league

Primary Individual 50cm: 1) Frank McCusker, Susie (Moira Primary School); 2) Paige Erwin, Henry (Loanends Primary School); 3) Taylor-Lee Doyle, Jack-A-Roo (Portadown Integrated Primary School); 4) Zac Bradley, Nat King Cole (Fairhill Primary School); 5) Henry McCarthy, Thunder (Downshire Primary School); 6) Henry McCarthy, Casper (Downshire Primary School).

Primary Individual 60cm: 1) Elizabeth Swift, Izzy (Moira Primary School); 2) Caitie McEvoy, Coco (St Francis Primary School, Aghaderg); 3) Zara McConnell, Rialsa Riverdance (Friends Prep); 4) Ava Phillips-Martin, Taras Lady (Stranmillis Primary School); 5) Annabelle Gill, Gracie (Anahilt Primary School); 6) Ellie Murphy, Waitwith Dynasty (Meadowbridge Primary School).

Primary Teams 65/70cm: 1) Iveagh Little Mix: Tilly Tumilty’s Sparky, Tilley Tumilty; Ellie Murphy’s Waitwith Dynasty, Ellie Murphy; Lily Murphy’s Milford Spectacular, Lily Murphy; Scott McKnight’s Bambi, Scott McKnight; 2) St Francis Primary: Caitie McEvoy’s Coco Bernagh, Caitie McEvoy; Cliodhna McEvoy’s Romeo, Cliodhna McEvoy; Rhys Hynds’ Willow, Rhys Hynds; Cliodhna McEvoy’s Coco, Cliodhna McEvoy; 3) The Lads: Freddie Castle’s Lizzie, Freddie Castles; Ted Geary’s Susie, Ted Geary; Isaac McCarthy’s Blaney’s Boy, Isaac McCarthy; Ted Geary’s Henry, Ted Geary.

Primary Individual 70cm: 1) Cliodhna McEvoy, Romeo (St Francis Primary School, Aghaderg); 2) Charlotte Nelson, Reggie (Spa Primary School); 3) Scott McKnight, Bambi (Bronte Primary School); 4) Tilley Tumilty, Sparky (Bridge Integrated Primary School); 5) Pippa Moore, Seapatrick Make a Move (Moira Primary School); 6) Lily Murphy, Milford Spectacular (Meadowbridge Primary School).

Secondary Individual 75cm: 1) Jack Cowan, Take Two (Lurgan Junior High); 2) Abbey Wallace, Ladybug (Grosvenor Grammar School); 3) Jack Cowan, Edentrillick Honey Bee (Lurgan Junior High); 4) Eabha Brennan, Millfields Kilnascully (Scoil Mhuire, Creeslough); 5) Olivia Nell, Callens Lady (Alexandra College); 6) Lucy Morton, Pop (Portadown College).

Novice Teams 85cm: 1) The Wee Rascals: Cliodhna McEvoy’s Romeo, Cliodhna McEvoy; Lucy Morton’s Blossom, Lucy Morton; Jessica Johnston’s Bev, Jessica Johnston; Peter Morton’s Fire, Peter Morton; 2) Our Lady’s Secondary School & Castleblaney College: Orla Nesbitt’s Castle Flash, Orla Nesbitt; Gráinne Lacey’s Belle, Gráinne Lacey; Bronagh Traynor’s Izzy, Bronagh Traynor; Orla Nesbitt’s Sparky Shadow, Orla Nesbitt; 3) Rathfriland High School: Sophie Hamilton’s Apollo, Sophie Hamilton; Rosey Herron’s Solitaire Rusty Brown, Rosey Heron; Sarah Craig’s Rockey, Sarah Craig; Taylor McKnight’s Asteris, Taylor McKnight.

Novice Individual 85cm: =1) Charlotte Nelson, Reggie (Spa Primary School); =1) Taylor McKnight, Astrix (Rathfriland High School); 2) Molly Magorrian, Lisgreen Silver Prince (Kilkeel High School); 3) Holly Rice, My Isabella (Banbridge Academy); =4) Chloé McLaughlin, Teddy Boy (St Joseph’s College, Coalisland); =4) Lucy Orr, Dotty (Royal Dungannon); 6) Aoife Mallon, Bay View Lady (Holy Trinity College).

Open Teams 1m: 1) The Rascals: Peter Morton’s Yogi, Peter Morton; Jessica Johnston’s Chezzi, Jessica Johnston; Lucy Morton’s Gucci, Lucy Morton; Peter Morton’s Bo-Bo, Peter Morton; 2) Down High Flyers: Abby Cummiskey’s Holly, Abby Cummiskey; Megan Nelson’s Fancy Trend, Megan Nelson; Annie Gibson’s Matt, Annie Gibson; Zara Sharvin’s Arubahrain; 3) Rockport School: Alice Salters’ Carragoir Blaze, Alice Salters; Arielle Allen’s Runaway Dolly, Arielle Allen; Samara Doherty’s Morepark Alamo, Samara Doherty; Alice Salters’ OMS Dark Prospect, Alice Salters.

Open Individual 1m: 1) Sophia Bingham, All Being Well (Cambridge House Grammar); 2) Cara McNabb, Killone Leo (Down High School); 3) Scarlet Thompson, Interstat Cleopatra (Glenlola Collegiate); 4) Sarah Cowan, Pandora D (Lurgan College); 5) Molly McCartney, Huffle Puff (Ballyclare Secondary School); 6) Charlotte McCracken, Loughfern Rob Reflection (Killicomaine Junior High School).

Premier Individual 1.10m: 1) Lucy Morton, Majeika (Portadown College); 2) Megan Carsob, Fair and Square (South Eastern Regional College); 3) Mya McCullough, Monrow Star (Antrim Grammar School); 4) Lucy McDowell, Lisnahall Miss Toffee (Lucy McDowell); 5) Claire Murnaghan, Brittania Cruise (Claire Murnaghan); 6) Eden Foley’s Kilnacappagh Harry (Banbridge High School).

Bree Rutledge

If you would like to find out more about Horse Week, Bree Rutledge can be contacted by email: or or by telephone: +44 (0) 28 9033 4493.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.