Summer Tour finale at The Meadows

Summer Tour final BR Farm
1.20M: Kevin Mackey, winner of the 1.20m Summer Tour, pictured with Sarah Burns (second) and Emma Jackson (third). Making the presentations is Aoife Dooley on behalf of Ballyward Equestrian, sponsors of the 2018 Ulster Region Summer Tour. (FW36-533NN)

THE Meadows Equestrian Centre was busy over the weekend of August 25 and 26, when the final of the Ballyward Equestrian and SJI Ulster Region Summer Tour rolled into the Oxford Island centre.

Commenting on the final, Ulster Region Chairman John Curran wished to extend his sincerest thanks to the McConville family for their very generous sponsorship, he also wished to thank “competitors, officials, show organisers for a smoothly run league during 2018”, and also thanked “the Ulster Region Horse Committee for increasing the overall prize funds, by investing monies from the Ulster Region at a grass roots level”.

90CM LINE UP: Winners of the 2018 Ballyward Equestrian 90cm class, Shirley Smyth (first), with Amanda McCracken (second) and Elizabeth Craig (third) being presented with their rosettes by Aoife Dooley from Ballyward Equestrian, sponsors of the Ulster Region Summer Tour. (FW36-532NN)

Reiterating thanks on behalf of the Ulster Region, Horse Committee Chairman Derek Reid also wished to extend his thanks and “appreciation to the Ulster Region athletes who supported the league, to each of the hosting venues and of course to Ballyward Equestrian for sponsoring the 2018 Summer league” .


Going into the final of the 2018 Summer Tour, a three-way tussle took place for the top spot in the 90cm class. In the end, it was Shirley Smyth with her horse ‘Jailhouse Rock’ that won the competition and, in doing so, secured the top prize for 2018. Following in second place was Amanda McCracken with ‘Mickeys Cruising Diamond’ and Elizabeth Craig placed third with ‘Cairnview Countess’.


Going into the final with five wins under her belt, Jane Clarke had an uncatchable lead in the 1m class with ‘Glenpatrick Cool Guy’, whilst Fiona Thompson came a very close second with ‘O’Harabrook’ and third with her own ‘Curloea Roni’.


Sarah Burns became the overall winner of the 1.10m Summer Tour, after 10.5 points on the day saw her move from third to first on the leaderboard. Second place went to Jane Clarke and ‘Glenpatrick Cool Guy’, while Sarah Kelly collected third place.


The consistency of ‘Legavallons Moonshine’, piloted by Kevin Mackey in the previous legs of the 1.20m Summer Tour, resulted in a 30-point gap between Mackey and his nearest rival, Sarah Burns. Even with Mackey not picking up any points in the final, he still had enough clearance to stand on top of the podium to take the 1.20m crown.

Young Riders

Winning both the 1.10m and 1.20m Young Rider titles, Elle Johnston was an uncatchable opponent. In the 1.10m class, Johnston was the stand out winner after recording multiple wins in the second half of the tour, to ensure a lead of over 30 points. In the 1.20m class, one point separated Brogen McCrum from Elle Johnston, so all was to play for. A third place finish in the competition saw Johnston, snatch the win from McCrum, who featured further down in the class result.

1.35m Grand Prix

With a start list of 36 combinations, 30 athletes braved the gauntlet set by the resident course designer team at the Meadows. With an early draw in the first round, Simon Scott set a blistering time as pathfinder with ‘Ploverfield Lilyana’ to win the red ribbons on the day, setting an uncatchable time of 38.69 seconds. Scott was then able to collect the winner’s cheque for topping the table in the 1.35 Grand Prix Tour.


90cm League: 1) Shirley Smith, Jailhouse Rock; 2) Amanda McCracken, Mickey’s Cruising Diamond; 3) Elizabeth Craig, Cairnview Countess; 4) Cerys Lundy, Ace’s Delight; 5) Jonathan Smyth, Fyfin Gold; 6) Jane O’Kane, Sally; 7) Liz Brown, Turlough Cavalier Clover.

1m League: 1) Jane Clarke, Glenpatrick Cool Guy; 2) Fiona Thompson, O’Harabrook; 3) Fiona Thompson, Curolea Roni; 4) Shirley Smyth, Jailhouse Rock; 5) Kevin Mackey, Legavallons TJ; 6) Jane Kealey, Ballustree Risque Business.

1.10m Senior League: 1) Sarah Burns, Georgies Star; 2) Jane Clarke, Glenpatrick Cool Guy; 3) Sarah Kelly, Baby Charlton; 4) Kevin Mackey, Imperial Darco Diamond.

1.10m Young Riders League: 1) Elle Johnston, Candence Dreamer; 2) Ellen McCollum, Terry Moyan; 3) Justine O’Hara, Calle; 4) Jonathan Smyth, Fyfin Sommes Sister; 5) Jonathan Smyth, Premier Domino.

1.20m Senior League: 1) Kevin Mackey, Legavallons Moonshine; 2) Sarah Burns, Foxy Finn; 3) Emma Jackson, Amy B; 4) Simon Scott, Carrickadawson Womanizer; 5) Barry McCormack, Moyleview Dancer; 6) Emma Jackson, Creevagh For Sure.

1.20m Young Riders League: 1) Elle Johnston, Cadence Dreamer; 2) Brogen McCrum, Tailormade for Me; 3) Jonathan Smyth, Fyfin Sommes Sister; 4) Justine O’Hara, Calle.

PRESENTATION: Simon Scott receiving his winning rosette and prize money from Aoife Dooley representing Ballyward Equestrian at the Ulster Region Summer Tour Finals, hosted by the Meadows Equestrian Centre. (FW36-531NN)

1.35m Grand Prix League: 1) Simon Scott, Jasmine Tide; 2) Jonathan Smyth, Beltrim Brother Ava; 3) Charlene Clingan, Ardtana Fast Forward; 4) Simon Scott, Ploverfield Lilyanna; 5) Jonathan Smyth, P Ping Ball; 6) Ronald Ross, Guildo VD Gulden Z; 7) Hannah Patterson, Douglas W; 8) Conor McEneaney, CMS Gunfire.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here