Texel Club celebrates end of a successful year

ABOVE: Pictured are the winners of the medium ewe lamb section of the flock competition with judge Anna Minnice-Hughes and Club Chairman Martin Cromie.

THE RossPark Hotel, Kells, was the venue recently for members, friends and sponsors of the NI Texel Sheep Breeders Club as they joined together for their Annual Dinner Dance and Awards evening.

Following an excellent meal Club Chairman Martin Cromie welcomed the members and guests and extended thanks on behalf of the club to the sponsors of the various competitions run throughout the year. He also expressed special thanks to Ivan Porter of Osmonds, and Danske Bank representative Seamus McCormick for the sponsorship of the Annual Flock Competition and Alistair Sampson from Volac for the Show Flock Championship.

LEFT: Stephen McCollam, Frank Clewer and Stephen and Averil McNeilly celebrate their success in the Small Flock competition with Club Chairman Martin Cromie, sponsor Seamus McCormick, Danske Bank and judge Anna Minnice-Hughes.

The results of the Volac Show Championship 2018 were announced followed by the results of the NI Texel Flock Competition. Judge Anna Minnice-Hughes from the Penparc Flock, Wales, acknowledged how it was an honour to be invited to judge the prestigious competition and thanked everyone for their welcome and hospitality. Anna went on to speak highly about the quality of stock viewed during the week and how difficult her job had been made to choose from the high standard of exhibits.

The results of the competitions are as follows:

Volac Show Flock Championship – Wilson & Moses, Blackstown Texels; Reserve – Alastair Gault, Forkins Texels.

Flock Competition Results:

Pen of Ewe Lambs kindly sponsored by Ivan Porter, Osmonds, Ballyward

Small Flock (based on birth notifications from 1-45) – 1st Shaune Duggan, Drumard Hill; 2nd Philip Bradley, Drumagarner; 3rd Patrick Donnelly, Donrho.

Medium Flock (based on birth notifications from 45-80) – 1st Jack Gault, Cherryvale; 2nd Chrissie and Martin Mullan, BlueGates; 3rd Danny McKay, Rohan.

Large Flock (based on birth notifications from 80+) – 1st John Foster, Springhill; 2nd Alastair Gault, Forkins; 3rd Andrew Kennedy, Maineview.

Best Senior Stock Ram kindly sponsored by Ivan Porter Osmonds Ballyward – 1st John Foster with Bluehill Yogi; 2nd Chrissie & Martin Mullan with Drumgooland Aga Khan; 3rd Simpson & Calvin with Milburn Allstar.

Best Junior Stock Ram kindly sponsored by Ivan Porter Osmonds Ballyward – 1st Andrew Kennedy with Silverhill Bushtucker; 2nd Stephen Etherson with Fachell Billy the Kid; 3rd John Foster with Strathbogie Bad Boy.
Flock Competition kindly sponsored by Danske Bank

Small Flock – 1st Stephen McCollam Carmavy; 2nd Frank Clewer, Bluehill; 3rd Stephen McNeilly, Drumadowney.

Medium Flock – 1st Andrew Kennedy, Maineview; 2nd Chrissie & Martin Mullan, BlueGates; 3rd Stephen Etherson, Killans.

Large Flock – 1st John Foster Springhill; 2nd Martin & Cyril Millar Millars; 3rd Alastair Gault, Forkins.

Overall Champion Danske Flock: John Foster, Springhill; Reserve: Martin Millar, Millars.

Congratulations goes to all the club members on their achievements.

The club would like to extend a sincere thankyou to all its sponsors for 2018, namely Danske Bank, Fane Valley, Glen Farm Supplies, Tullivin Growvite, Bank of Ireland, Farmware Supplies, Osmonds, Smyths Daleside, SH Coleman, Holden Agri, Farmcare, Oldstone Veterinary and Volac.

RIGHT: Medium Flock winners accepting their prizes from judge Anna Minnice-Hughes and sponsor Seamus McCormick, Danske Bank.

The end of the ram sales is succeeded by in-lamb female sales, with members heading to Ballymena Livestock Mart on December 3 for the female in-lamb sale.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here