Women’s Institute Drama Festival

WI Drama SM Farm

Lesley Dowds, Arts Sub-Committee Chairman, welcomed a large audience to the annual Drama Festival on Saturday, April 13, in Macosquin Presbyterian Church Hall, Coleraine County Derry.

Five institutes, Armoy WI, Ballygrainey WI, Crumlin WI, Downpatrick WI, and Kells & Connor WI, entered the Sketch class and Muckamore entered the one-act play class.

The adjudicator was Geradine McGivern, B.Ed M.Ed LNEA. Geradine was impressed with the talented actresses on stage and the variety of topics/themes of the sketches and the play.

There was a clairvoyant/palmist, an Australian visitor/relative arriving home, a dating agency, a mammy’s boy, and a ladies’ boutique shop. She gave lots of helpful advice and stressed the importance of detail.

The ladies of Macosquin WI provided tea, coffee and scones in the morning and a delicious soup lunch with sandwiches and wheaten bread, then tray bakes, tea and coffee at lunch time. WI home cooking at its best!

Helen Jamieson, Lower Bann Executive member, presented the awards in the absence of Federation Chairman Colette Craig. Helen congratulated the institutes that took part, and said how much she had enjoyed the day.

Nancy Orr proposed the vote of thanks and a wonderful day’s entertainment ended with the Country Woman’s song.

The results were as follows:

Sketches – Overall Winner: Armoy WI; Best Actress: Hazel Minford, Crumlin WI; Best Costume: Rosemary McAllister, Kells & Connor WI; Best Producer: Nancy Orr, Armoy WI; Best Novice Sketch: Crumlin WI; Best Moment of Theatre: Ballygrainey WI.

One-Act Play – 1st Overall Winner: Muckamore WI; Best Supporting Actress: Irene McCullough, Muckamore WI; Best Producer: Elizabeth Gray; Best Overall Actress: Sharon Carson; Best Costume: Colette Meenan, Muckamore WI; Best Performance of Play (written by a WI member): Elizabeth Gray; Best Supporting Actress in Festival: Jean McCollam.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here